The Purse Element

I just finished teaching XHTML: The Basics. It’s a fun class and one of my favorite topics. I was explaining to the students how Web pages are composed of different elements – heading elements, paragraph elements, list elements, all sorts. I was also explaining what an attribute is. That’s basically something that describes an element. So, for example, to make the border of a table two pixels wide, you would use the following code:

<table border=”2″>

I didn’t want to only use boring examples, so I told them to imagine a purse element and attributes to describe different qualities of the purse. The example I used was:

<purse type=”clutch” color=”red”>

The students giggled and I blushed at having outed myself as a big fan of purses.

Leave a Reply

