Praise the Lord & Buy Some Herbs

Most of you probably know that my Dad was a Presbyterian minister. That’s right, I’m a PK. My church experience was overwhelmingly positive. The emphasis was on love, acceptance and support. Music was a big part of the liturgy for my Dad. I always loved the hymns and miss singing them. I’ve been wanting to get more connected to the spiritual bits of myself.

Several people recommended churches, so Lean and I decided to try different ones out until we find one we like. Our first venture was last Sunday. We attended a church I’ll call “Great Church.” The service and music were very contemporary. I enjoyed the music, but realized that I think I prefer more traditional hymns. The minister who delivered the sermon apparently isn’t the normal guy. Some of his message was great. For example, he spoke about the importance of having an attitude of gratitude. I couldn’t agree more with that notion. He did say, however, some things I didn’t like:

  • Apparently the church plans missions and a group is preparing to go to Turkey. He said that Turkey is 98% Muslim and untouched. He said they’re going there to spread the word of Jesus. What the hell does untouched mean? Just because it’s a different religion doesn’t mean it’s inferior OR that it’s our job to go to different countries and tame the “savages.”
  • He told a story that he and a friend were having coffee at a cafe and discussing spirituality. He said a woman nearby overhead and said she has a relationship with God, but doesn’t go to church. He said that’s not really true and that she needed to go to church and do other things to have a complete relationship with God. Again I say, “What the hell?” Who is he to make determinations about other people’s relationships with God? Plus I’m certain that different things work for different people and amid all the turmoil of our lives, if people can make some sort of spiritual connection that comforts and feeds them, GOOD FOR THEM.

Lean and I found out that our experience was a bit unusual, so we may go back. I’m sure there are many positive things happening at that church, and I like that young people attend and that it’s not stodgy or uncomfortable.

After church, we shared a bagel at Einstein’s and then hit a local plant store. The smells were amazing and the flowers were SO stunning! Lean got tons of gorgeous blossoms. I wanted to get 100 flowers and 75 herbs. I drooled over the dill, basil, parsley and thyme, but decided to start small. I got a tomato plant, cilantro and chives:

Plants

Lean said maters will probably start appearing in July. I can’t wait! My pico is going to be the best in town BITCHES!!

One Response to “Praise the Lord & Buy Some Herbs”

  1. olorinsledge Says:

    “He said that Turkey is 98% Muslim and untouched… just because it’s a different religion doesn’t mean it’s inferior.”

    Well, the Bible clearly states the following in John 14:6; Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

    Given that the Muslim religion doesn’t believe that salvation is through Jesus, I’d say that their religion is wrong.

    “..she has a relationship with God, but doesn’t go to church. He said that’s not really true and that she needed to go to church… again I say, “What the hell?” Who is he to make determinations about other people’s relationships with God?”

    I could go into a whole heap of different things here but it comes down to this: You will find your faith challenged, strengthened & encouraged more, though not always the case, in a church community than you will by not attending church.

    Lets not forget, we’re not just here to have God pander to our own needs, desires and wants. The church is a place were our giftings can be fully utilised by God in service to Him.

    I find it hard to believe people that say they have a full relationship with God when they can’t even discipline themselves enough, or take time out of their week, to attend church. If nothing else, it’s the principle of priorities – what’s so much more important in their life than spending a few hours a week in corporate communion with other Christians?

    But then, maybe I’m a little too harsh.

    PS. I’m a PK too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

