Once Blogger, Now Slacker

I didn’t blog a lot last week. I missed the writing and expressing. I think it was just a wacky week since I started a new job. Here’s to more blogging this coming week.

Friday was a good day at work. I shadowed #5 again for part of the day. LOVE her! She’s hysterical. We talked about boys and church and a Cleveland sandwich she loves called a Polish Boy. It will be fun to have her around.

For the rest of the afternoon, my boss worked with me to explain the current Web site maintenance system. They have some of the oldest, most deprecated, gnarly HTML I’ve seen in a LONG while. I’m anxious to fix it up. I’m also excited about re-designing the site, and looking into more features. For example, my boss wants me to add a feature so customers can zoom in on pictures of products and get a better look. I think something Flash-driven might be best, but will have to see. Also, the database end of the Web site is a MESS and needs lots of help. It’s a BIG job, but I’m ready for it. I think I will learn a lot.

My boss confirmed that he and I are going to the Internet Retailer Conference and Exhibition in Chicago at the beginning of June. Yay! It will be my first overnight business trip. I’m an adult and stuff.

I found out more scoop from #5 and apparently, I was supposed to get an office, but they ran out. I have a cubical area that they’re planning on spiffing up. Of course I would prefer an office, but I don’t want to make a spaz over it. However, IT sets it up so that users aren’t administators on their own machines. That’s unacceptable. I can understand doing that for certain users but the Web is my job. I often download little accessibility utilities and such and need Trillian to stay in touch with my peeps. (Granted, some of my chatting isn’t work related, but I often ask coding and programming questions to people I’ve worked with in the past who are online.) Bottom line: I’m an adult and I need more permissions! I’m pondering how to approach this issue with my boss.

I’m salaried now and my boss said that although he would like me to try to be in the office between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., I don’t have to work a certain number of hours. I just have to get my job done. He said he’s very laid back and hands off. We love that, but responsibility is scary! I think the best thing to start rolling into work around 10:30 a.m. and hang a velvet poster and black light in my cube.

I also found out this week that Mr. Keester got a new job. He’ll be moving to the IT department and be programming Web applications. Yay Keester!

I had a long phone convo with Bernard last week. His family is in Georgia now to celebrate that’s he’s finished officer school, and help him pack and move to MO. We talked about when I would visit. I think it may be early June. I kind of wanted to go later in the summer. We’ll see what happens.

We talked about relationship stuff. He got a newer car because he wants to improve the image he portrays to women. The joke there is that he criticized me NO end for having a car payment and not driving some heap. He’s fortunate because his Dad can fix up cars. (I still haven’t put my license plate on the Goose because I don’t do tools. It’s been almost two months! I’m good at car. I’m surprised I haven’t gotten pulled over.)

Bernard and I also talked about how it’s easy to get stuck in a rut doing the same thing; old patterns and behaviors can be difficult to overcome. It seems we’re both trying to do that.

Last night, I rented Born into Brothels; it was somewhat inspiring but also demonstrated that although there is always hope, change is unlikely when people are stuck in bad environments and not surrounded by support. A photojournalist, Zana Briski, wanted to capture the lives of the women in the brothels of Calcutta. She ended up encountering and connecting with their children as well. She soon realized that the children were the perfect candidates for documenting their own existence. She gave them cameras and taught them how to take pictures. Their photos were absolutely stunning and moving. You can’t even imagine the lives they lead. I was particularly enamored of one little girl called Puja. She’s beautiful and somehow managed to maintain a fresh, childlike spirit, despite the conditions in which she lived.

Briski wanted so desperately to help the kids. Most of them would end up prostitutes, so she worked and worked raising money and awareness to help get them all into boarding schools. It ends up that only two of the children actually stay in school. The others returned to their families in the brothels or their families wouldn’t let them leave the brothels in the first place.

The movie reminded me that I really, really want to do Firefly this year. For those of you who don’t know, a few summers ago, I applied to participate in this camp and was invited to join. The camp is for children from especially war-torn and impoverished areas of Bosnia. They go to the Croatian coast for a few weeks and get to play and be kids. When they invited me to join, things were kind of crazy because I had just started my job. I put off going one summer and then last summer, put it off again. It’s important to me that I follow through with this, which means I need to start fundraising RIGHT NOW. I’m supposed to raise money for my expenses and two other kids’. I may hit up the Indy Press Club. (I want to write an article about my experiences.) Laura is a member of the Junior League and I was thinking they might help as well, so I need to contact her.

I also forgot to mention that Russ called Thursday evening. He said, “Hi. This is Russ. Just callin’ to say hi. Talk to ya later. Bye.” Totes deep. I didn’t answer the phone and feel kind of bad, but don’t plan on returning his call.

Finally, last night, AZBad and I saw Akeelah and the Bee and I LOVED IT. It was so inspiring and uplifting. Granted, it was a bit predictable but the story and acting were so beautiful, you couldn’t help but love and root for all the characters. They alluded to a great Marianne Williamson quote several times in the movie:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure…We ask ourselves, “Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?” Actually, who are you not to be?…And as we let our own light shine, we subconsciously give other people permission to do the same…

Who am I to NOT go to law school dammit?! 😉

Leave a Reply

