Bomb Ass ‘bouli

Look what I made?

Tabouli

How can you not want to make out with me right now? I started with this recipe, but modified it a bit. The final dish included:

  • 1/2-cup bulgur, dry
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 4 green onions, diced
  • 1/4-cup flat-leaf parsley, diced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp freshly-squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2-cup chick peas
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • Pinch of freshly-ground pepper

My Marsh didn't have plain bulgur; it had a tabouli mix, which included some herbs and spices, but nothing too wacky. I added 1 cup of boiling water to the 1/2-cup of bulgur and let it sit for an hour. While I waited, I chopped and diced and it wasn't long before I had delicious tabouli. *drool* I know tabouli often contains mint, but I'm not a fan, so I left it out.

I have a bit of bad news. My Marsh has always had the BEST calamatta olives in the deli. They're SO tasty and happily drowning in this lovely, olive oily brine deal, mmmm. Well tonight I found out they won't have olives at the deli anymore. They still sell calamattas, but they're jarred and not the same. Kroger has deli calamattas that are tasty, but still not as good as the Marshy ones. You're upset, aren't you? I understand. How could a change of this nature happen without us knowing?

I think I want to make Bernard a mix CD, but I'm not sure if he has a way to play CDs. I could ask, but sort of want it to be a surpise. I think I'll risk it. If he doesn't have a CD player, he can enjoy the shiny surface of the disc. 😀

Lean read The Da Vinci Code and LOVED it. She's told me the jist of the story, and it sounds very intriguing, but a bit freaky. I generally loathe film adaptaptions of books, but the movie looks like it might be decent. We've got a date to see it on opening night. Woot!

What was with all that crazy David Blaine noise yesterday. There was an AOL poll for users to vote whether they think he's an idiot, a genius, or both. The majority of the users said he's an idiot. Hee hee. What drives a person to do that kind of stuff?  Lean and I watched part of the big show and they played "secret footage" of him "training" with "Navy seals." The narrator said they could film him during this "training" but not reveal his location or the identities of the "Navy seals." He was running on a beach and doing all these ridiculous exercises and one of the "Navy seals" yelled something like, "Get movin' magic boy!" Too funny!

I got some groceries tonight but thought I had chick peas at home. Turned out I didn't, so I went back out to get some. It was SO nice out that I couldn't resist takin' a little drive around my favorite loop. Ahhhh…spring.

Leave a Reply

