Bravo Pimpin’

The few shows I watch regularly are on Bravo. Here are my faves:

Project Runway – I hope they're in the midst of taping a third season. This show is so much fun. Bravo picks 12 designers and has elimination competitions each week. One week, the designers might have to make an entire outfit from plants. Another week, they might have to design a dress for a famous socialite. The winning designer gets $100,000 to launch a line, a 2007 Saturn SkyRoadster, a spread in ELLE, and a mentorship with the Banana Republic Design Team. I love some of the crazy coutur these people crank out and Heidi Klum is a perfect host. I don't know anything about sewing or design, but it's neat watching designers create sometimes beautiful/sometimes hideous outfits. And designers definitely seem to be a unique bunch; each has funky qualities that make the show entertaining. Also noteworthy is Tim Gunn. He's the chair of the Department of Fashion Design at Parsons The New School for Design. He mentors the designers as they work. At first, he might seem a bit uptight but he's very witty and genuinely cares about the designers and what they're making. Michael Kors is one of the judges each week and he had a good sense of humor too.

Top Chef – Bravo picked 12 chefs and each week there is a cooking competition, eliminating one of the chefs. One week, they might have to make something fancy from something ordinary like cheese puffs and corn dogs. The next week, they might have to create a menu for a wedding reception. The winning chef gets $100,000 to jump-start his/her culinary career, is featured in Food & Wine magazine, and makes an appearance at the Food & Wine Classic in Aspen in June 2006. Bravo cast very well. There is someone you love to hate (Stephen), someone you can't get enough of (Miguel), someone with whom you sympathize (Dave), someone who really root for (Lee Anne), etc etc. They portray Stephen as VERY arrogant but on the "Where are they now?" show last week, he seemed more down-to-earth, plus he's a cutie! Miguel, aka Chunk La Funk is hysterical but also makes you feel a little dirty. Andrea talks about bowel movements WAY too much. I was very bummed that the judges picked Tiffani for the final three instead of Lee Anne. They've made Tiffani look like a bitchus maximus! (I just made that up-how clever am I? ;)) I can't decide who I want to win; I think Harold. He's has gorgeous eyes and is very low key. The first episode of the season finale airs this Wednesday. You should tune in or watch if they have a second season. One thing – I think they wanted a host with a demeanor like Heidi Klum, but the lady they chose irritates the hell out of me. She's very blah and monotone.

Blow Out – This is about celebrity stylist Jonathan Antin and his salons. He is totally over-the-top and obnoxious, but I can't look away! It's a ball being a fly on the wall in his salons. The gossip, the intrigue, the hair on the floor-oh my!

Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List – I only caught a few episodes of this show last season but I fell in love instantly. I had always found Kathy Griffin mildly irritating. I finally saw some of her stand up and realized she has an excellent sense of humor. She dishes on celebs and what it's like be on the bottom rung of the celebrity ladder. Her stories are hysterical. Her self-deprecating wit always tickles my funny bone. The new season starts June 6. You should tune in fo' schizzle.

Leave a Reply

