Law-see!

Y'all, I am WAY behind on my posts! Despite the fact that I rested today, I still want to climb under the covers and snuffle with Abbs. My weekend must, however, bear fruit, so I'm gonna write a fun, informative entry to dazzle you!

First of all, I LOVE this Vera Bradley purse. It's so fun and summery. This weekend was cold and rainy; it warms my tootsies to see such a cute purse. I briskly rub my hands together and hold my palms toward this couture campfire for solace and warmth.

I talked to Bernard tonight. He was supposed to head for MO, but they told him it's a bit too early. He had already driven all the way there from Indiana. I would've poked someone with a stick. Anyway, he drove back and went to NC with his Dad to visit family. He met an aunt he'd never met. His Dad has 12 sibs! Big family! The plan is that he'll come to Indy sometime this week for us to hang out.

Ern came up on Saturday morning. We had planned to see a photography exhibit at the Indianapolis Art Center, but instead we saw Marilyn Hotchkiss' Ballroom Dancing & Charm School. It was VERY sweet and heart warming. The cast was incredible: Robert Carlyle, John Goodman, Camryn Manheim, Danny DeVito, Marisa Tomei, Sean Astin, and Donnie Wahlberg. John Goodman did an excellent job. He played Steve Mills who, 40 years ago, planned to meet his childhood sweetheart at the dance school on the fifth day of the fifth month of the fifth year of the new millennium. On his way, he got in a terrible car accident. Frank Keane, played by Robert Carlyle, was driving on the same road and found Steve. The background on Keane is that he's a 4th generation bread maker and his wife recently committed suicide. Steve told Frank about his destination, and asked Frank to go in his place. He did and met a warm group of people who help him open up and move past his sadness. He also met Marisa Tomei's character, Meredith Morrison, who was involved in a bit of an odd relationship with her step brother. The story was quiet but encouraging and hopeful. It really showed the intense pain and grief associated with loss. Definitely worth $6.50.

Ern and I came back to my apartment and watched the trailers for Brick and Lady in the Water on my laptop. Girrrrrl, both of those movies look AWESOME. I don't think I'll see either because they look too scary, but I can't wait to hear what people think of them. I think it's rad that Joseph Gordon-Levitt (3rd Rock from the Sun and 10 Things I Hate About You) is playing this dark, noir role in Brick. Good for him. P.S. I have a little crush on M. Night Shamalamadingdong.

Ooo I forgot to mention that Ern and I found 2 neat stationary stores. I was in HEAVEN. Some of the stationary was fun and quirky and some was elegant and refined. I took pictures of 3 kinds of stationary because they gave me good ideas for my eventual blog design.

And speaking of stationary, I found the fabulousstationary.com Web site today that I want to marry it. They have the best designs and I love that you can personalize stationary. I want 15 of every design. If you're a lurker, you could totally get me some of that stationary and I'll marry you in a HEARTbeat. No questions asked. 😉

Speaking of things I want to marry, Google Chat ranks up there. I don't want to install a chat program on my 'puter at work because I could get in trouble. But I like to chat with Ern during the day and it's helpful to be able to message other developers I know if I have questions. I can use the AIM Web interface, but it's buggy as hell. I've also been unable to get Yahoo! Messenger's Web interface to work consistently. Google Chat is Google's version of an instant messenger and it's fantastic. You don't have to download anything and it's not always breaking and annoying the hell out of you. Woo hoo!

I've been drinking more water and have gotten to the point that I notice how yucky my tap water tastes. Lean brought me some Ethos water from Starbucks and I loved it. It was so crisp and refreshing. I think I may need to invest in a water filter pitcher dealie. Suggestions for a good one?

I also have an ice problem. I've dumped all my ice, run all my ice paraphernalia through the dishwasher, and wiped everything down. I even tried Arm & Hammer and my ice STILL tastes yucky. What's the deal?

This post is getting a bit long so I think I'll close and start another. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

