Black Bean Stoup

I just made the illest black bean stoup (soup/stew hybrid) in town:

Black Bean Stoup

I used ingredients I already had on hand:

  • 2 pieces bacon
  • 2ish dashes of Worchester sauce
  • 1 30-oz can of frijoles negros (said with a silly accent)
  • 1 14.5-oz can of petite diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil
  • 1 14.5-oz can of stewed tomatoes (Original Recipe, with onion, celery, and green pepper)
  • 2ish cups of frozen corn
  • 1 bay leaf
  • All of the following to taste (I used about a palm full of each):
    • Cumin
    • Garlic salt
    • Sea salt
    • Pepper
    • Tony Chachere’s Original Seasoning (My family and I found a can of this stuff in a beach house we rented in Gulf Shores for spring break a few years ago. We tried it, loved it, and bought some to take home.)
  • 2ish tbsp of fresh, chopped cilantro
  • Garnish: 
    • Low fat sour cream
    • Chopped green onions

So here’s what I did. I cut up the bacon and cooked it to render the delicious bacony goodness. I added a few dashes of Worchester sauce for the hell of it. After the bacon had cooked for a few minutes, I added the black beans, the cans of tomatoes, the bay leaf, and all the seasonings (cumin, garlic salt, sea salt, pepper, and Tony Chachere’s). I let that bubble for about 10-15 minutes. Next I added the frozen corn and let the mix cook for another 10-15 minutes. Finally I added 2 tablespoons of fresh, chopped cilantro. I let that simmer for about 5 minutes. I ladled up some soup and garnished with low fat sour cream and chopped green onion.

Yummy yummy yummy, low fat, and very healthy!

Leave a Reply

