Conference Plans

My boss keeps bringing me paperwork to sign regarding the eCommerce conference in Chicago at the beginning of June. Our per diem is $160. Woo hoo! I wish they'd just give me the cash. 😉 Who needs that much a day for vittles and such? We were going to fly, but it's the same price to get a rental. My boss and I agreed that a rental car is much easier, so we'll be driving up together. I wonder if he likes to play car games. Some of my car games might scare him a little though. They include:

Goin' on a Picnic

One person starts off by saying, "I'm goin' on a picnic and I'm taking a <something that starts with the letter a>." Then the next person goes, repeats what you said, and adds an item that starts with the next letter. "I'm goin' on a picnic and I'm taking a <something that starts with the letter a> and a <something that starts with the letter b>." You build and build, trying to remember all the items for each letter. When I first learned this game, the picnic items were innocent, like apples, berries, cheese, and the like. As I got older, my friends and developed variations (only animals or only perverse items). These variations make this simple game a barrel o' fun!

Name Game

This is my personal favorite. Someone starts and names a celebrity. The next person has to name a celebrity whose first name starts with the same letter as the last name of the celebrity the person before you mentioned. For example:

  • Player one: Michael J. Fox
  • Player two: Felicity Huffman
  • Player three: Halle Berry
  • Player four: Bob Newhart…

It's loads of fun and you'll be surprised at the celebrities people come up with. You have to decide if you'll allow cartoon characters (like Fred Flintstone), fictional characters (like Anne of Green Gables), and celebs with unusual names (like Jesus).

I Spy

You start this game by saying, "I spy with my little eye, something that starts with <letter of what you're looking at>." Then the other person has to guess. Other variations involve giving a color as a clue. "I spy with my little eye something green."

20 Questions

One person thinks of something, anything and the other person can ask up to 20 questions to figure out what it is. Generally the first question is "Animal, vegetable, or mineral?" After that, the asker usually only asks questions that can be answered with "yes" or "no." It can be fun but this is my least favorite. It seems so overwhelming and unlikely that you'll guess. But I've watched people who are good and they consistently answer correctly. Maybe this game is too advanced for me. 😉

Would You Rather?

I didn't learn this game until college, so I've only ever played using dirty scenarios. The deal is, one person poses a question and an alternative. "Would you rather eat George Bush's ear wax or make out with Oprah?" The other person has to pick one answer and death is not an option! This game gets very disgusting, very quickly.

What car games do you play? I'm always interested in learning new ones.

Leave a Reply

