V for Vegetarian

Joaquin Phoenix made PETA’s list of the World’s Sexiest Vegetarians. Woot! How beautiful and talented is this man? I was surprised to learn which celebs are vegetarian – Anna Nicole Smith, David Duchovny, P!nk, “Weird Al” Yankovic, Q-Tip, and John Cleese, to name a few. I think Anna Nicole Smith only qualifies as a vegetarian because her only caloric intake is from amphetamines.

About a year and a half ago, I tried being a vegetarian for about six weeks. Unfortunately, I didn’t take enough time to prepare healthy meals, so I wasn’t getting enough protein. I definitely, definitely want to give it another go. I rarely eat red meat, so I don’t think I’d miss it that much. I would miss chicken and seafood, but there are so many yummy alternatives these days. (Plus all I have to do is think about all the poor chickens crammed into those unlivable spaces, and I lose my appetite for the little cluckers.)

I love the Morning Star products like chik patties and veggie dogs. I also love Boca Burgers. I’m a big fan of rice and beans, which together, make a complete protein. I want to try some of the soy products and experiment with different tofu preparations. I can’t do the really jiggly, squidgy type, but there are firmer, more “meaty” types I can try. Also, there is a Whole Foods-esque store in Broad Ripple called Sunflower Market. (And Three Sisters, which I fell in love with last weekend.) They always have yummy bread and soup and all sorts of vegetarian fare. Everything is so tasty, you don’t miss the meat. Maybe next year, I’ll be on PETA’s list! Then Joaquin and I will ride off into the sunset in our Civic Hybrid. 😉

Leave a Reply

