Inexcusably Late Weekend Wrap Up

Hello from Chicago! I'm here for the eCommerce conference. More on that later.

So last Friday, I made my tator soup I'd previously plotted and it was YUMMY. Here's a recipe recap:

  • Chop and saute 2 pieces of bacon
  • Add 1/2 a chopped onion and saute for 2-3 minutes
  • Add 1 clove of chopped garlic
  • Add 1 cup of chicken stock, 1 bay leaf, and 1 teaspoon of thyme
  • Season with sea salt and freshly-ground pepper 
  • Reduce liquid by half
  • Add 1 can of light cream of mushroom soup
  • Cook for 3-4 minutes 
  • Add 1/2-cup of fat-free milk and 1-cup of fat-free half and half
  • Bring to rolling simmer
  • Cook for 5 minutes
  • Serve and garnish with fresh green onions

It turned out very well and if anything, could use a bit more seasoning. I saved some for Lean and she agreed it rocked the hiz-ouse.

After soupies, we went to see The Break Up. The reviews weren't that great, so I wasn't expecting too much. I had seen two funny scenes in previews, so I thought it would be mildly entertaining. It turned out to be a lot better than that. It was hysterical! The screen play was very smart. I have SUCH a crush on Vince Vaughn! *meow* (How much did you heart Swingers?) I also thought it was a pretty honest portrayal of what goes down when people break up. Definitely a fun flick.

Saturday morning I taught an XHTML workshop and then did some shopping at TJMaxx. I LOVE the Maxx but it is totally hit or miss. The last few months when I've gone, it's been all misses. I was due some retail winnin's, and winnin's I got. I've been looking for a white or off white, fun summery purse and I found it. Check out this Nine West number:

New Purse

Growing up, white lace-up Keds, with their sassy blue labels were always a staple of my wardrobe. In high school, Keds were replaced by Vans. In college, Vans were replaced by New Balance and most recently Saucony has been added to the mix. Of course I experimented with Nike and Addidas, but they had mere cameos. Recently, I've seen tons of Mischa Barton Keds ads and have noticed that flat, round-toe shoes are back. I saw a pair of kutie Keds at the Maxx and could not resist:

Keds

Best of all, they were only $11! Woots!

Before I left, I hit the clearance isle and found some pretty Asian bowls on sale. I wanted to get all of them, but until I make a better decision about dishes, thought I'd just get one for hair things in the bathroom or jewelry in the bedroom:

Bowl

Purdy.

I had a nice long nap Saturday afternoon, and spent the rest of the day relaxing and hangin' with Abbs.

Sunday was quite a rush. I did laundry, cleaned my apartment, packed and ran errands before meeting my boss at the car rental place at 2 p.m. I was nervous about the ride up but it went very well. We chatted the whole way and conversation flowed nicely. The weather was gorgeous and the traffic wasn't bad at all. We arrived around 5 p.m., hoofed it to the hotel to register for our conference, and then got settled in at our hotel. It's gorgeous and my view is spectacular:

View 

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

