Unexpected Call

After I broke up with Russ, I thought we might be friends. At the time, it seemed like an OK idea. Since then, the more I've thought about it, the more uncomfortable I've become. I gave Russ too many chances. I was too patient. I don't have anything left to give him. I really don't want to be friends with him. He's not a terrible person, but I just don't want to get wrapped up in his life again. He doesn't have any of the qualities I want in a friend. He's no Great Ern, or Lean, or even Poorod.

The last time Russ called and left a message, I didn't call back. I figured he'd get the hint and that would be the end of it. My phone rang this morning and it was him. I didn't answer, so he left this message:

"Hey. I hadn't talked to you for awhile. Um, I got a new contract actually at ***** downtown. And I like it, like it a lot so far, so that's good. So uh, anyway, um, just called to see if maybe you'd wanna hang out tomorrow afternoon at the *****, um Saturday afternoon. Anyway, I'll, I'll talk to you later. Bye."

*gulp* I don't want to just ignore his call, but I don't want to get into a big long discussion about everything. I'm thinking I'll send him an e-mail. How should I say what I want to say? Maybe I'll do what Chandler did and tell him I'm moving to Yemin. Hee! 😉

Leave a Reply

