Full Friday

Friday was a long day. In fact, last week in general was long. I had plenty to do but was totally unmotivated. Finally, the week came to a close. After work, I headed home, showered up, and met Great Ern at the IMAX theatre. We saw Deep Sea 3D and it was INCREDIBLE. We got to wear really fancy glasses:

Ern & Mymsie

Kate Winslet and Johnny Depp narrated. The images were so stunning. It was amazing to see the symbiotic relationships on coral reefs. We learned about all sorts of interesting creatures, including squid, jellyfish, rays, shrimp, octopi, sea turtles, and sharks. My favorites:

  • A Nudibranch is a sea slug that eats Tube Anemone’s tentacles. The Anemone's stinging cells don't harm the Nudibranch, who after eating the tentacles, uses the Anemone's stinging cells for its own defense.
  • Despite their appearance, Wolf Eels are very shy and prefer to stay in their dens with their mates. Aww-romantic. 🙂
  • Mantis Shrimp are tiny but very strong! Their front claws have been clocked at the speed of a 22 caliber bullet. That means they can easily break apart the shells of their pray and will eagerly defend their territory.
  • Green Sea Turtles occasionally visit a car wash of sorts where certain types of fish feed on the algae on their shells. It's a meal for the fish and a good and proper cleaning for the turtles.

The sad part of the movie was how many coral reefs have been decimated due to over fishing. Once the natural balance is upset, certain species over populate or are unable to populate normally, causing chain reactions that eventually affect every creature on the reef. For more info and to take action to save our reefs, visit the Ocean Conservancy and the Natural Resource Defense Council.

During the movie, I had a bright idea to take a picture of the movie through the 3D glasses and then I'd have a 3D picture. I turned off my flash but it didn't work. I gave up, to keep from irritating too many people around us.

After Deep Sea 3D, we headed to the Super Target in Greetucky. I tried to return my DVD player. It stopped working and wouldn't spit out one of my Golden Girls DVDs. I got it less than a year ago. Poorge found it for me. It was only $35 and I got what I paid for. They said you can't return electronics after 90 days. I asked them to retrieve my DVD and decided I'd call the manager of another Target to have a chat about this nonsense. Stay tuned.

Remember when I almost bought this bag in green, since it was on sale for $10? Well I'm glad I waited. I got it for $3 at the Super Target in Greentucky. THREE BUCKS! Woots-what a deal!

After Target, we saw The Lake House. The nature of the story line could've made for a cheesy, obnoxiously-unrealistic movie, but it was really good. I normally don't like suspension-of-reality movies but this one was believable enough and romantic enough to make it loads of fun. Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves have some major chemistry and Keanu is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO hot! He's not the greatest actor but there is something about him. *drool*

P.S. I cannot wait for A Scanner Darkly. Keanu Reeves and Robert Downey Jr., both of whom I love, are in it. Poorod reads Philip K. Dick novels and has told me a bit about them. Sounds like this one is gonna be good, plus I love the rotoscoping à la Waking Life, which Poorod insisted I watch.

Leave a Reply

