Absolutely Smashing

You should know that one of my all time favorite bands is The Smashing Pumpkins. I LOVE their music and I LOVE Billy Corgan and I LOVED Zwan and Billy's solo stuff too. I think Billy (I can call him that because we're practically best friends) is a brilliant musician and lyricist and he's super yummy to boot. When the Pumpkins broke up, I was devastated and comforted only in the knowledge that I saw them perform on their farewell tour. Last year, Billy announced that the Pumpkins would reunite and I've recently read that they're writing and recording as we speak! I thought I detected new notes of musical genius once again dancing on the fringes of the force. That's right – Billy and Jimmy Chamberlain (sans James Iha and D'arcy Wretzky) are back in the studio. Billy has said that his music would not be what it was if it weren't for Jimmy's drumming and influence. I also read that Eric Avery, the former Jane's Addiction bass player, is joining Billy and Jimmy, but then I read that Melissa Auf der Maur, who replaced D'arcy in the farewell tour and whose solo album ROCKED MY SOCKS, might also be part of the new line up. All this news is so exciting and wonderful. I can't WAIT to see what they come up with!

Leave a Reply

