Cuttin’ Out Early

Tomorrow is July 4th. Pretty much anyone with half a brain took today off, so they could have a super long weekend. I couldn’t, or at least didn’t think I should, since I haven’t been at my new job that long. I didn’t want to already be all, “Since it’s my second week, can a girl get a day off?” I figured not many people would be at work today and I figured correctly. It’s like a ghost town up in here. It’s normally difficult for me to focus, but the knowledge that most people are at home relaxin’ or chillin’ on their boats is making it extra easy for me to get off task. I certainly have plenty of work to do, but I just can’t bring myself to be productive. Instead I’ve:

  • Caught up on e-mail
  • Blogged
  • Played Bookworm online  (I make it more challenging by only selecting words with four or more letters)
    • Determined that “quai” is in fact a proper word
  • Made a list of non-work related To Dos
  • Decided to visit Super Target tonight for a little shoppy shop
  • Decided to buy the season five Golden Girls DVD
  • Harassed anyone within reach of electronic correspondence
  • Discussed important issues with Lean over e-mail like how rough we have it and how much we deserve to win the lottery
  • Drank 20 ounces of water
  • Tried unsuccessfully to locate the source of a stink around my office

It didn’t take long for me to realize there is no way I’m going to make it until the end of the work day. I think I’m going to leave early, but don’t you dare tell a soul. If anyone asks, I’ve been working all morning but am volunteering at a homeless shelter during my lunch break. 

Leave a Reply

