Bad Morning

I’m supposed to be at work by 8 a.m. Monday, due in part to excessive refined sugar intake on Sunday, I didn’t even wake up until 8:15 a.m. I felt sluggish and out-of-sorts a-l-l d-a-y l-o-n-g. UGH. I hate when that happens. Over e-mail, I vowed to Lean to start sticking to a more reasonable schedule on the weekends. More Geritol, less antics followed by binge sleeping. 

After work, I took Abbs out and then headed to Lean’s for a swim. Her pool is L shaped. We considered entering on the deep end of the L, but eventually migrated to the shallow end. We had planned to swim laps or at least flex one muscle for a five count, but instead chatted and made faces at loud, splashing kids. 

Later we watched Wife Swap, which Lean introduced me to a few months ago. Invariably you’ll find a chauvinistic Dad, a push over Dad, a nutter Mom, and a Nazi, over-achiever Mom. These are people living at extremes. (i.e., My goat and six dogs have the run of my house and sleep in bed with me.)

We also watched a bit of Supernanny. NOTE: If you’re ever wrapped up in the heat of the moment and tempted to forgo birth control, watch five minutes of Supernanny and I guarantee you’ll never stray from the contraceptive path again. But seriously folks, I LOVE the Supernanny lady. She’s so positive and open and really seems genuinly supportive of and invested in others. Lean and I speculated about how she remains this way. How does one remain upbeat and connected but also grounded and sage? She has an incredible attitude and I want one like it.

Later, Amy and I had a long, wonderful catch up chat. We ended up talking for an hour and a half. Amy moved to Connecticut about a year ago. She’s one of my best friends, so it was very hard to see her go. I’m hoping to visit sometime in the next year. I’ve never been to CT and am anxious to explore.

Our conversation spanned many topics, including:

  • What it takes to get an inherited, above-ground pool in working order
  • Fuzzy mold
  • Meditating 
  • Kitty booty
  • Humidity

Pretty standard catch-up fodder, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

