Mistress Mix-a-lot

I made a fun mix CD for my trip this weekend with Ern. It features quite an interesting melange of tunes.

Inclusions I’m Embarrassed To Admit To

  • The Pussy Cat Dolls – Buttons: Come on! It’s a fun song, featuring Snoop who notes, “I thought I saw a puddy cat.”
  • Jessica Simpson – A Public Affair: It’s bouncy and sounds a lot like early Madonna.
  • Kelly Clarkson – Walk Away: It’s sassy and oozes girl power. My favorite part is “I know you know I know so what’s the point in bein’ slow? Let’s get this show on the road today. Hey-yeaaaaaah!”
  • Cassie – Me & U: This is one is especially embarrassing but the song has a good beat and I love when she says, “I know them other guys, they been talkin’ ’bout the way I do what I do. They heard I was good. They wanna see if it’s true.” I promise that if you went dancing and heard this song, you’d slink to the dance floor to bust a sultry move.

Inclusions I’m Not So Embarrassed To Admit To

  • Arctic Monkeys – I Bet You Look Good On The Dance Floor: This intense, upbeat ditty rocks my socks. Plus any tune that references Romeo & Juliet gets a thumbs up from me.
  • 311 – Frolic Room: I heart 311! The harmonies, the kick, the flow, oh my!
  • Keane – Is It Any Wonder: I wasn’t a huge fan of Keane’s last album, but I definitely like this new single.
  • The Raconteurs – Steady As She Goes: Jack White of The White Stripes fame has the magic touch.
  • Rock Kills Kid – Paralyzed: This gritty single reeks of early adulthood angst. I’m anxious to find out if the entire album is a winner.

Interesting Tidbits

  • I downloaded all these songs from iTunes for 99 cents each. They were my first iTunes downloads. I’m so modern.
  • I included “How To Save a Life” by The Fray on my mix CD. I found out they recorded the album that song comes from at Echo Park Studios in Bloomington, IN. (I don’t think their Web site is current.) Yay for my old stomping grounds!
Leave a Reply

