My Weekend (In 700 Words or Less)

This weekend certainly did not turn out as I expected it might. (I’ve had a run of that lately.) When I got home from work on Friday, I took Abby outside and her tummy was very sick. She seemed to have a little bit of sick tummy the day before, but Friday it was pretty bad. Poor puppy. We went down to the lake so she could wash off and cool down. That seemed to help a bit, but I didn’t want to put her in a hot car and drive to the cabin. We decided to see how Abby was Saturday morning and go from there. She was much better and didn’t seem to be getting sick anymore, so we piled in the car and headed to the cabin.

The weather was SOOOOOOO miserably hot. Ern and I agreed that the best time to go to the cabin is in spring or fall. When we got there, the staff at the livery said the water was too high to canoe or tube. Apparently, it was a foot above their cut off point. Yikes! Unfortunately, the awesome creek outside our cabin was completely dry. Had I known that, I wouldn’t have brought Abbs because there was no place for her to cool off and play without being so uncomfortable because of the heat.

Cincy is only about 40 miles from the cabin, so since we couldn’t even tube, we decided to drive there and see a movie. We ended up getting quite lost. We took random exits and circled many times. We also traveled in and out of Kentucky. We didn’t have a map, but eventually got our bearings.*

We saw Lady in the Water and I really liked it. The funny thing was, the night before, Paul Giamatti was in my dream! I told him I was planning to see his movie and he kept saying, “It got really bad reviews. The critics didn’t like it, so you shouldn’t see it.” Silly Paul! He did a great job; his performance we particularly moving in a scene toward the end of the film when his character breaks down. The content of the movie was a bit more ethereal than M. Night Shyamalan’s other films. In some ways, he employed elements typical to fairytail-ish films, but it worked for this movie. It didn’t feel generic or obvious. It had a “hope for mankind” twist that I appreciated. And as is common with Shyamalan’s films, the characters were rich and flawed and fit together perfectly like a jigsaw puzzle. I also liked that it was scary, but not nightmare-freaky-death-terrible scary.

Sidebar: In the movie, there is a nasty creature who lurks in the grass and three other nasties who hide in the woods. To get to the bath house from our cabin, you pass some dark woods. Both Ern and I forgot flashlights. Although I wasn’t scared to death, once we went to bed, I decided to “hold it” until day light. 🙂

After the movie, we headed back to the cabin and made a campfire. All the wood was very damp, so it wasn’t a great fire. It was hot enough to cook my yummy chicken breast in a foil pack nestled in the embers of the fire. YUM. We also toasted a few marshmallows. They were sweet and lovely.

Our cabin had AC, but it was still very humid. Also the flimsy mattresses were less comfortable than we’d remembered. We ended up packing and leaving around 10 a.m. Sunday morning. I was hoping to get Abbs home before it was too terribly hot and uncomfortable for her in the backseat of my car. Poor fluffy bear.

For the rest of the afternoon, I cleaned a bit, unpacked, napped, and caught up on e-mail. It was a restful afternoon. I ate too much cherry cordial yogurt but it was so cool and creamy, I couldn’t resist. I bought pasta but barely touched it because it was too hot and rich to eat in this hideous weather. TOO HOT TO BLOG!

*”Got our bearings” = asked for directions at a random gas station in KY 😉 

Leave a Reply

