Don’t Say A Word

I have to reveal something a bit embarassing. I don’t mind telling you, if you promise not to tell anyone and not to hold it against me. It’s really all Lean’s fault. She was all, “Ebert gave it a really good review! It’s supposed to be funny.” And because I liked Anchorman and am generally a fan of Will Ferrell, I agreed to see it. Since I’m embarassed, I’ll just whisper it. Last night, I paid $6 (I get discount tickets at my apartment office – thank God!) to see Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby. Totally erudite, right? It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t that funny. There were maybe 5 really funny lines, and the rest was just eh. Fifteen minutes after the movie started, Lean leaned over and whispered, “This is two hours of your life you’re never gettin’ back. Sorry!” Hehe.

After the movie, to assuage our shame, we decided to get a cocktail. Applebees has a bit of a cameo in the movie, so we wanted to go some place equally cheesy. We ended up at the bar at Chili’s. And for the love of God, don’t start singing that damn ‘baby back ribs’ song. I did and it’s STILL not out of my head.

Our new buddy, who shall now be known as Moxy*, joined us for the movie and cocktails. We got margaritas and Lean had beer. There was a guy sitting alone at the bar drinking wine. He looked to be in his mid-30s. He was sweet and cute enough, but kind of tried too hard. He overheard our convo, we were talking about another movie, and then asked us about it. I think he got really nervous because he had a bit of a time spitting out his thoughts. Poor wine guy. Moxy said she thinks she recognizes him from speed dating. How small does Indy seem sometimes?

In other news, the bartender at Chili’s was SUPER cute and friendly (although young, Lean guessed 25). We chatted about movies and Mel Gibson’s recent outburst. We found out he’s (the bartender, not Mel Gibson) leaving Chili’s to bartend at the Fox & the Hound, so we said we’d stop by some time. Fun!

P.S. Did you like my double entendre post title? Remember the movie with Brittany Murphy called “Don’t Say a Word” and she said “I’ll ne-ver te-ll!” in a scary voice? And it was perfect because I don’t want you to tell anyone I saw you-know-what. Come on! That’s clever, right?? 😉

*Note to Moxy: Please forgive me for selecting such a silly nickname. My creativity well was dry!

Leave a Reply

