Amazing Read

I just finished reading the tenth part of the Christian Science Monitor’s piece about Jill Carroll‘s kidnapping in Iraq earlier this year. It takes awhile to get through the articles and watch all the video, but I was glued to my computer the entire time. Hers is a fascinating, frustrating, enlightening, and extremely moving tale. I think it’s so important Americans gain a more-complete understanding of Iraq and the different types of people there. We shouldn’t paint them all with a broad brush. This story helped me better understand the diversity. The fundamentalist Muslims don’t represent all Iraqis by ANY stretch of the imagination. Once we better understand the nature of the the various types of people and what’s important to them, I think we’ll be better prepared to help Iraq.

I also think Jill Carroll’s goals as a journalist are so noble and important. Yay for journalism divas!

Leave a Reply

