Lemondrops Are Manly

I had a nice weekend and I’m feeling lots better than I did on Friday. I have the general sense that I’m peeking out from the rut I’ve been stuck in. Thank goodness!

I napped like it was going out of style on Saturday. Lean and Moxy and I had planned to go out Saturday night, but when Lean and I were exchanging text messages, I briefly considered succumbing to my lazier notions. Fortunately, Lean easily talked me out of that. We all got gussied up and met at Lulu’s. When I first arrived, I found an older gentleman chatting up Lean and Moxy. It turned out he was a comedian who wanted to try out his material. Lean put the smack down and told him it needed work. Hehe. 🙂

The music at Lulu’s was fun, which helped liven the mood. Lean and I did some pretty hardcore bar stool dancin’ and insulted critiqued discussed the people around us. We carefully selected the corner of the bar as prime real estate for people watching. I found it especially interesting to see the various extents to which the ladies get gussied up. We saw some very interesting ensembles.

For me, the highlight of the evening came when a cheesily-dressed, muscular guy stood behind me and ordered eight Crown & Cokes and 10 Lemondrops. THAT’S RIGHT – 10 LEMONDROPS! Who orders Lemondrops??? That’s only a few steps up from a Grasshopper. LOVE. IT.

The low point of the evening came when a sassy lady wearing one of these spilled red wine all over Lean’s purse. It smelled really pretty afterward. Lean was a very good sport about the whole thing. I might have cried a little, but not Lean. In the aftermath of the incident, I’ve set up a Save Lean’s Purse fund. If you’re interested in contributing funds or resources toward the dry cleaning and/or replacement costs, please send whole dollar amounts to mymsie@paypal.com.

Sunday I mixed things up by napping in various locations in my apartment. More importantly, I cleaned, including dealing with some tough spots on the carpet in my living room. Everything feels SO much nicer now. I even took time for my monthly(ish) thorough vacuuming of the couch, which is a must to rid it of the gradual build up of Abby fur. For the future, I have a lofty goal of adhering to a more-regular cleaning schedule.

Lean came over last night and we went for a swim. The water is getting colder and colder. We did our usual gossip/water aerobics routine, including a favorite of mine: you hold your bod in an L shape and use your arms to propel yourself forward. It’s good for your abs and biceps and it helps me remember my ABCs.

After swimming, we watched part of the Emmy’s and yakked about the implications of the morning-after pill being approved for over-the-counter sales. Aren’t we well-rounded?

P.S. At Lulu’s, I had two cranberry and vodka cocktails and my bill was $13! Can you believe that? C-R-A-Z-E-E. I’m not much of a drinker but next time, I’m bringing a flask. 😉

Leave a Reply

