Could My Life Be More Exciting?

I made soup last night, initially inspired by this recipe. I wanted to give it some oomph so I added a few twists of my own. Also, I despise cooked carrots so I left them out. The final recipe looked something like this:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup diced onions
  • 1 pound ground turkey breast
  • 4 cups stock (beef, chicken, or vegetable)
  • 2 14.5 ounce cans of diced tomatoes (any flavor you like)
  • 2 cups diced cabbage
  • 1/2 cup green beans
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • Salt to taste
  • Palm full Tony Chachere’s Original Seasoning
  • 1 cup pasta (I used rotini)
  • 1/2 cup diced zucchini

Directions

  • Saute the onions for 5ish minutes
  • Add ground turkey and brown
  • Add stock, tomatoes, cabbage, green beans, garlic, and seasonings
  • Bring to a boil
  • Simmer for 10-15 minutes
  • Add pasta and zucchini
  • Simmer another 10-15 minutes

The results were DELICIOUS! Next time I might substitute white beans for the cabbage and sugar snap peas for the green beans. I also think it needs the tomato paste in the original recipe to lend some body. Still it was a yummy, healthy meal.

I did some cleaning, organizing, and laundry last night too and FINALLY finished my birthday Thank You notes. I love any excuse to use my stationary. Expect a cutie card in your mailbox any day now.

The results of my organizing are more piles of stuff to take to Goodwill, including some silly purses I’ll never carry and a piece of pottery a boy made me in high school. Now at 30, I’m ready to let go. (DUMB) I’m still debating about one item. I have this massive, cushiony twin-size down comforter awhile ago. Nicole was going to take it to Goodwill but gave it to me instead because (if I remember correctly) I had a friend who needed something of that nature. For some reason, I ended up keeping the damn thing. It’s waaaay too bulky to use as a comforter, unless you live in the Antarctic, but it makes a great mattress in a pinch. The problem is that it’s so big and unruly, I don’t really have space for it. It’s been sitting in a lumpy pile in my living room for months. Should I just get rid of it? It’s a pain but I use it occasionally and I know those things are quite expensive. *Send your votes now! Text yes to 123-MYMS if you think I should keep the gargantuan linen. Text no to 123-MYMS if you think it should go to Goodwill.

*There is a 99 cent charge for each vote. Regular text messaging rates apply.

Once the Goodwill pile is gone, there are tons of books and scrapbook/card making ephemera that need a home. I also have new pictures and knickknacks to put out, including a sassy tea pot. At the center of this firestorm is a crate of car trunk stuff in my living room that needs to go into my trunk, but couldn’t until it was cleared of 100 boxes of work crap, which it is now, except for one. I think I’ve blogged about that crate before and no, I still haven’t dealt with it. In summary, it’s time to start burning things. I simply cannot think about getting a condo or house yet, not until my student loan stuff is more squared away and I’ve made some decisions about the next few years. Thank God I made soup. Where would I be without that gem of accomplishment?

I capped of my evening with a looooooooooong, wonderful catch-up chat with Amy. When I lived in Bloomington, we had a standing date every week. We’d linger over long, decadent dinners and watch dirty movies afterward. When I moved to Indy, we still had our dates, but less frequently. After she moved to CT, we made a plan to talk every week. As seems to be the nature of most of my plans, they were thwarted for one reason or another. I’m hoping our chat last night signals a crank in the butane under the fire that is our friendship, cause I miss me some Amy sooooooooooooo much.

2 Responses to “Could My Life Be More Exciting?”

  1. A-frame Says:

    Hey baybee – Just dropping by to say I too luuuuuuved our chat last week. I’m still riding high on it. And I’m digging your blog. I almost feel bad reading it, because I’m hearing all about you but not necessarily reaching out and touching someone (drrty) to let her know I care…ok, must stop before this comment becomes one of our Tuesday night softcore nights. Final note: your hair looks FAB! Love ‘n’ pine nuts to yeh. A.

  2. gail Says:

    the recipe looks great – I will try it out this week. Thanks for the humor 🙂

Leave a Reply

