Like Kate Bush Said, “Don’t Give Up”

Hi! Remember me? I used to blog here. I took a little break this weekend but I’m back and ready to share again. I had a pretty busy weekend and I didn’t sleep well last night, so I slept in this morning. I’m totally frustrated at work right now. I’m stuck on a CSS/layout problem. Meanwhile, Javascript treachery looms on the horizon. Are you still awake? I saw some good movies this weekend. I did last weekend too, and I still haven’t even told you about those. After work, I’m hoping to get caught up on all that shizzle. In the meantime, I’m listening to Thievery Corporation‘s Versions, eatin’ my Lean Cuisine, and trying to focus on work work.

P.S. Do you remember Peter Gabriel‘s Don’t Give Up featuring Kate Bush‘s angelic descant? I was OBSESSED with it my freshman year of college when my friend Linnea included it on a mix tape for me. It’s a beautiful piece of music. If you’ve never heard it, download it immediately and report back to me.

P.P.S. I’m still in awe of Justin’s FutureSex/LoveSounds. There will undoubtedly be Grammy nominations, at the very least. My new favorite track is Love Stoned/I Think She Knows. I LOVE the traditional stair-step harmonies. The beat box in the background is so addictive – it’s like CRACK. Just when you think it can’t possibly get any better, he pipes on the funk guitar icing. Mmmmm. Toward the end of the song, the percussion drops briefly and you’re swept into this awesomely-synthesized, melodic, balladish finale. I’m left panting. As always, Timbaland‘s got the golden touch.

Leave a Reply

