Don’t Be a Bullet Hater

I have an odd melange of information to share with you, which generally is well suited to the commonly-employed bullet format. You probably already know I’m a big fan of the list, as evidenced by the List category and the proliferation of bullets about my blog. However, I sometimes wonder if readers find a bulleted entry to be a bit of a cop out. It’s not terribly clever and affords the writer the perfect excuse to segue from topic to topic without any sort of meaningful transition in between. As such and since my last entry was bulleted, I hesitate to continue in this fashion at the risk of alienating my 3.5 readers. And yet as I type, I’m suddenly aware of the exceedingly boring nature of this paragraph and thus, the inherent irony of this chunk of prose. To allay the dreaded ailment “reader’s ennui,” I give you my list but never let it be said that I don’t keep y’all in mind! 😉

  • When I was shopping at the mall a few weeks ago, a guy from one of those kiosks tried to sell me some dead sea miracle manicure set. I actually was pretty impressed by the nail buffer – it made my nails shiny! It helped that the guy workin’ the popsicle stand was easy on the peepers. He noticed my nails and commenced his sales pitch, which he thoughtfully proceeded by asking my name. When I told him, he said he’s from Israel and that in Hebrew my name means “my water.” Is this true? Israelites? Come forward!
  • The sixth season of Golden Girls is out on DVD! I LOVE that show – what of it?? The writing is at once hysterical and meaningful, light and earnest. They managed to cover taboo topics like AIDS but still offer up gobs of laughter and good feelings. The show also offered a unique glimpse into the lives of women in their 50s and 60s, one unprecedented in television history. Plus the theme song rules.
  • I just heard Diddy’s new single Tell Me featuring Christina Aguilera and wasn’t all that impressed. He waited a long time to drop something new but it doesn’t make me glad for his return like Jay-Z’s new single does.
  • In the last year, I’ve fallen head over heels in love with Death Cab for Cutie. Plans is the soundtrack to my life right now. “All of us in the band are starting to turn a corner and realize our youth is basically over,” says [lead singer] Ben Gibbard. “That’s not a bad thing; it’s just that the feeling of invincibility begins to fall by the wayside.” Get out of my head Ben! The whole album resonates so strongly with me. I’ve listened to it every day, multiple times a day for months and each day I clutch it closer to my heart. I’ve also started working my way back through DCFC’s previous albums and have recently fallen under the spell of Transatlanticism. I love that musically, lyrically, and thematically it was a prelude to Plans but still cultivated its own sound and vibe. Their show at Lollapalooza this summer was excellent and for me, one of the highlights of the whole weekend. When I found out they were coming to the Murat in Indy, I knew I had to see them. I asked my concert buddy AZBad if she wanted to go. She had other plans and then left the country before we could sort out any details. Then I asked Poorod because he’s a fan, but he said the ticket price was too rich for his blood. (Who talks like that?) Finally I contacted B and he said he’d love to come to Indy for the show. (They’re not performing in Chicago.) By the time I got the OK from B, the Indy tickets were sold out. Oh man, I was heart broken…but all was not lost! B had business to attend to in Louisville after the show in Indy. I found out there was a Death Cab show in Louisville the day after the Indy show. Fearing the show would quickly sell out, I snatched up tickets before I talked with B. A few days later, I found out B has a huge important meeting with clients the night of the concert. UGH. I’ve already bought the tickets, so I’m going to offer B’s to Poorod, who’ll hopefully accompany me to Louisville. We’ve been playing phone tag, but I’m optimistic all this will work out. I’ve never done it before but if necessary, I think I’m prepared to go to the concert by myself. I cannot miss the show. CANNOT.
  • Cutest tea pot ever!
  • Do you know what a whoopie pie is? I didn’t until Poorod told me a few weeks ago. He knows because he’s from Maine. Damn Yankee. The thing is, my brother once discovered these amazing cake/cookie/icing sandwich gems at a Walmart in Terre Haute (utterly forgettable town in Indiana). There they were called gob cakes. We snarfed them down and cried because we couldn’t find them anywhere else. When I read more about whoopie pies, I found out that gob cakes are whoopies. YUM! I’ve since decided that before the year is out, I will make whoopie pies. Know of a good recipe?

And now I’ve grown tired and class is over, so it’s time for me to go home and pet my sweet, fluffy pup.

2 Responses to “Don’t Be a Bullet Hater”

  1. PastaQueen Says:

    I lived in Louisville for 8 years and the Palace Theatre is absolutely stunning. I’m sure you’ll have a good time, alone or with a friend!

  2. Natina Says:

    Did you ever get the Whoopie Pie details? I have one if you still need it.

    Living vicariously through you,
    Natina

Leave a Reply

