It Ain’t What It Ain’t

Twice today I’ve overhead a nearby coworker wisely declare, “It is what it is.” That’s a pet peeve of mine. What the hell does it mean? It’s like the verbal equivalent of empty calories. You may as well arf like a seal or babble nonsensically. Of course I sometimes spout ridiculous, wasteful, non sequiturs, for which I’d rather not be looked down upon. But my comments are funny…right? 😉

P.S. I usually visit the Merriam-Webster site several times daily to look things up. They’ve recently redesigned it, making the look up fields more front and center – good call I say. Snaps to Em-Dub!

P.S. Fun products I’ve recently encountered:

  • This window art kit looks like tons of fun. It’s the perfect rainy day activity.
  • How gorgeous are these ceramics, especially the spring blossom ones?
  • I love the print on this tea towel.
  • This owl sake server is fantastic. I’m not a fan of sake but you know I love tea pots.
  • And finally, I cannot explain why but these erasers tickle my fancy. I don’t really use erasers but this makes me want to start.
3 Responses to “It Ain’t What It Ain’t”

  1. Jay Dub Says:

    Will Rosie get one of the fine owl sake servers?? 🙂

  2. PastaQueen Says:

    Since you love words, you’ll love to know that a statement like “It is what it is” is called a “tautology.” We learned that in my killer online logic course.

    Is this post some sort of passive Christmas list? 🙂

  3. A-frame Says:

    We’ll have to chat about this. This sentiment and I have recently come to a detente, partly because of a person I know and respect who has used this line in the past.

    xoxo-
    A.

Leave a Reply

