Fun Holiday Meme

HollyI suppose this is a bit silly and self indulgent, but it’s irresistibly fun too! Send your answers to mymsieATgmailDOTcom, if you’d like.

  • Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate? Hot chocolate, fo’ schizzle.
  • Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree? He wraps them and even makes fancy bows.
  • Colored lights on tree/house or white? Definitely white.
  • Do you hang mistletoe? I don’t think I ever have, just because I haven’t thought about it. But I would – especially at a party with cute boys.
  • When do you put your decorations up? In theory – around the beginning of December. In practice – the Valentine’s Day after Christmas.
  • What is your favorite holiday dish? Cornbread dressing – old, southern, family recipe.
  • Favorite holiday memory as a child? Advent calendars my grandmother made for my brother and I. Getting to go to Va and see my cousins. And my Mom baking all sorts of yummies in our cozy kitchen. She would always listen to Anne Murray’s Christmas album or the Carpenters’ Christmas Portrait album (my all-time fave).
  • When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I don’t recall but I remember that I already knew when my Mom told me but it annoyed me that she told me. (nice bitter runon)
  • Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve? Sometimes one.
  • How do you decorate your Christmas tree? I’m a fan of white lights and ornaments collected over the years. Some garland can be pretty – like dainty, red, wooden cranberry-esque balls.
  • Snow? Love it or dread it? Love it! Starting in September, I get very excited for snow to come. Once it arrives, I’m usually ready for it to leave again though and by February, I want spring.
  • Can you ice skate? HELL-to-the-NO! I can barely WALK on a regular surface or stand on ice. I don’t see how people can balance on those mothers. (Bah humbug)
  • Do you remember your favorite gift? I remember getting a little aqua synthesizer and LOVING it. I still have that thing. It plays all sorts of songs and beats and teaches you to play songs too. I was obsessed with “When the Saints Go Marching In” and “Joyful, Joyful We Adore Thee.” I even wrote a song and made up music to go with it. It was called “Typical” and it was so cheesy and lame – all about boys, even though I had no clue what I was talking about. I also remember being excited about getting an official Cabbage Patch doll and a homemade one my Mom made for me. (Her name was Buffy – don’t be jelly.) Oh and I LOVED my easy-bake oven.
  • What’s the most important thing about the holidays for you? Getting cool pressies, duh?! 😉
  • What is your favorite holiday dessert? Definitely my Mom’s caramel cake. It’s another old southern recipe and it is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good. You’d knock over an injured puppy to get some.
  • What is your favorite holiday tradition? I think wrapping presents. I love doing that so much and I always have a ball. I sometimes even volunteer to wrap at Borders or Barnes & Noble when it gets really close to Christmas.
  • What tops your tree? My simmering bong.
  • Which do you prefer giving or receiving? Like anyone would say receiving! I seriously do love the gift giving, as long as I have plenty of money to spoil people. Especially since the Internet explosion– I find so many great gifts online.
  • What is your favorite Christmas song? Tough but probably #6 from Christmas Portrait by the Carpenters: It’s Christmas Time. I also LOVE all the Christmas hymns, especially since my pappy was a preacher – I committed them all to heart. Also, my Dad tells a funny story about a Christmas song – before one Sunday in December when I was 7- or 8-years-old, I asked my Dad if we were going to sing “the catalog song” at church. He couldn’t figure out what I was talking about, so he asked me to sing some of it. Evidently I burst out with “The catalog lowing the poor baby wakes, but little lord Jesus, no crying he makes!” Heh.
  • Candy canes? Eh, they’re OK. I’m not big on the minty desserts, but some of the funky-flavored ones are yummy. Plus it’s totally hot to suck on one in the company of a man! 😛
One Response to “Fun Holiday Meme”

  1. Your hotel Break Says:

    Your hotel Break

    Thanks, Interesting read.

Leave a Reply

