And the Nominees Are

Yeesh – I started this post 100 years ago when the Grammy nominations were first announced. Excuse the ridiculous delay! 

Awww yeah – the Grammy nominations have been announced and the line ups are competitive. As I so cleverly predicted, Justin’s brilliant FutureSex/LoveSounds has racked up quite a few noms, including Album of the Year, Best Pop Vocal Album, and Best Dance Recording. His hit single “My Love” featuring T.I. also picked up a nod for Best Rap/Sung Collaboration. So if you haven’t already bought the album, get yo’ ass to the sto’!

Other nominations I’m pleased about:

  • Imogen Heap for Best New Artist: She’s not really a new artist, but I guess they just now noticed. I discovered her music last year around this time. I’ve racked my brain trying to remember how, but I cannot recall. I heard Hide & Seek and immediately bought Speak for Yourself. Her music is at once haunting, quirky, intriguing, and at times, bright and frivolous. Totes check her out. She experiments with voice manipulation and it’s really interesting.
  • I Will Follow You Into the Dark by Death Cab for Cutie for Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal: I’ve rambled on and on about how much I love Death Cab. This song sits smack dab in the middle of their last album Plans. It’s simple, pared down (lyrically and instrumentally), sweet, tender, and sad. The band definitely deserves props.
  • Get Together by Madonna for Best Dance Recording and Confessions on a Dance Floor by Madonna for Best Electronic/Dance Album: Holy balls, Madonna’s last album is THE BOMB. It’s such an incredible dance album – it rocks my socks! It’s synthesized in fifty frillion different ways and runs the gamut stylistically.
  • Save Room by John Legend for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance and Heaven by John Legend for Best Male R&B Vocal Performance: I am a BIG John Legend fan. He is so young and yet so incredibly talented. He has a raspy, wise, super-sexy voice. I heard Ordinary People from his first album Get Lifted and was totally blown away. I was hooked as soon as I bought the album. Kanye West produced it and there are cameos from Snoop and Lauryn Hill so while his style is R&B, the album definitely has a good bit of hip hop flair – overall it’s a landscape of smooth jazz notes peppered with dope beats. His latest album, Once Again, has a more soulful, mature style and at times, reminds me of the music that often accompanied Fat Albert. I especially love the organ in Save Room. I think my favorite song from his second album is P.D.A. (We Just Don’t Care). It’s flirty, fun, and light.  
  • Testimony: Vol. 1, Life & Relationship by India.Arie for Best R&B Album and I Am Not My Hair by India.Arie for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance and Best R&B Song: India.Arie’s first album, Acoustic Soul, stands firmly in the upper echelons of my all-time favorites. In my opinion, it’s The-Miseducation-of-Lauryn-Hill or Nevermind brilliant. Shortly after that album came out, I had fallen asleep on the couch one night and woke up to find the Video [name of song] video [noun] (heh) playing on MTV. I LOVED it, even in my sleepy haze, so I wrote down the name and artist and bought the CD right away. It’s such an incredible body of work – spiritual, feminine musings, profound and yet familiar. I bought both of her follow up albums and while they too feature some great songs, they haven’t impacted me in the way her first album did. Still in my opinion, she is a phenomenally talented song writer and musician.
  • Talk by Coldplay for Best Rock Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal: When I first listened to X&Y, I wasn’t impressed and immediately dismissed it. At the time, Billy Corgan had made a dig at Coldplay that while insulting, also seemed accurate. Due to my intense love for Billy and respect for his opinion, my view of the album may have been unfairly skewed. Months later I returned to it and each time I listened, liked it more and more. My favorite song is Swallowed in the Sea. Have a listen if you get a chance. I love its simplicity and the way it builds.
  • How To Save A Life by The Fray for Best Rock Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal: What a perfectly-executed pop song. It’s addictive and has managed incredible longevity.
  • Every Day Is Exactly The Same by Nine Inch Nails for Best Hard Rock Performance: Two words – Trent Reznor.
  • Walk The Line by Joaquin Phoenix & Various Artists for Best Compilation Soundtrack Album For Motion Picture, Television Or Other Visual Media: I literally wore out my copy of this soundtrack. My ears would have nothing else for months. Even if you don’t like Johnny Cash’s music, you can’t help but be impressed with Joaq’s and Reese’s spot-on performances. I was especially bewitched with how perfectly and precisely Joaquin captured Johnny Cash. He wasn’t just playing a role. He was JC. It was also shocking to me that two people who are not singers could rouse such talent from their loins.
  • Kick, Push by Lupe Fiasco for Best Rap Solo Performance and Best Rap Song: I saw Lupe perform this kickin’ single at Lollapalooza this summer. I read reviews that said the album was great but ended up not buying it because of a bad review by someone whose tastes seem to often parallel mine. Did you buy it? If so, did you like it?

I bet you’re glad that post is finally over!

Leave a Reply

