Indy Happs

Life in Indianapolis has been filled with fun and excitement lately. First was the Super Bowl last Sunday. Like millions of true-blue fans across the country, Lean, Moxy, and I watched the Colts win while noshing pizza and painting our nails. For good measure, I spilled an entire bowl of nuts all over Moxy’s carpet – mmmm, hairy nuts!

Yesterday we got a blast of snow, between 4″ and 5″. It’s purdy but messy as HELL and created total chaos on the roads. The best part was that my boss let us leave at 2:30 p.m. It took me about an hour to get home, slowly puttering down Shadeland, which I deemed the best of all possible routes. For the first hour after I got home, I shivered, went on and on about how bad the roads were, and grumbled that I’d foolishly worn suede Birkenstock-ish mules, which ended up stuffed with freezing snow. Once I’d settled down, I snuggled up on the couch and took a nice long nap. It was HEAVENLY – I looooove a cozy, lingering, afternoon nap. Abby nestled close by and did her part in the snooze effort as well.

I forgot to mention that I dropped my car off on Monday to be fixed from when evil Mustang boy hit me. This time, I was outfitted with a new Saturn Ion, which is comfortable and boasts a mega-powerful heater. It doesn’t have power windows or remote locks which certainly isn’t the end of the world, but is a bit of an adjustment. Having to actually crank the window down to retrieve my Starbuck’s mocha with only a single shot of espresso is EXHAUSTING.

When I left work yesterday, I got a bit confused and ended up trying to get into the wrong car. It’s just that the parking lot was filled with dirty, black hoopties, each topped with an impressive but un-unique layer of wet, soppy snow. When I was unable to open “my car,” I started cussing and flailing my arms about, at which point I glanced at the bank of windows in front of me, all offering light to managers’ offices, and decided I should calm down, lest any of the higher ups had gathered to observe my ridiculous behavior. I like to make a fool of myself in the parking lot.

P.S. I’m not really a football fan but the game was very exciting and I’m so happy the Colts won. They deserve the boon and positive attention, which will hopefully spill over to Indy and bring lots of benefits. Plus, how rad is it that Dungy is the first African-American coach to win a Super Bowl? AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

