Get Your Heads Out of Your Respective Asses

Dear Evil, Money-Grubbing Paparazzi,

Earlier this week, I read an article about Britney Spears’ recent crisis. A therapist quoted in the piece suggested she might be suffering from postpartum depression, particularly since she had two children back-to-back. It hadn’t occurred to me before then but suddenly made perfect sense. Her body is most-likely being completely overwhelmed with extreme, unfamiliar hormonal changes.

One of my parents is bipolar and the other is a professor of human development so from a young age I was exposed to mental illness. I have a basic understanding of PPD and what a debilitating and terrible illness it is. Since I struggle with anxiety and depression, I worry a great deal about the possibility of experiencing PPD if I ever have children.

None of us can possibly fathom what Britney might be going through. Imagine being a 25-year-old, new parent in the midst of a divorce, trying to save a foundering career, and not being able to go anywhere on the planet without being hounded by paparazzi. I’d shave my head too under much less stressful circumstances.

Please respect the privacy of a girl in crisis, struggling desperately to hold on. Try to put her well-being before your paycheck. BACK OFF!

Thanks!
Mymsie Floofenheimer

Leave a Reply

