Now With More Morning-y Goodness

I’ve always had trouble getting up in the mornings, meaning I’ve been late to school and work a lot. I realize how obnoxious that is but waking up early has always felt so unnatural, so against the normal rhythm of my body. And then motivating myself to stay awake and get ready so I’ll be on time to school/work/pyromaniacs support group is like pulling teeth. I’m definitely a night owl. If I’m tired in the a.m., it’s difficult for me to function but I get winds at night and even if I’m tired, it doesn’t bother me as much. I accomplish more in the afternoons and evenings too. This sucks because the world is generally set up for morning folks. By the time my juices are going, everything is closed and locked up tighter than Dick’s hatband!

My Mom is a chipper early riser and always said I’d come to the dark side too when I got older. I’ve had periods in my life when I’ve overcome not diggin’ the sunrise shift. I used to get up at 6 a.m. to swim but mainly since college, my morning blahs have remained. I’ve had starts and stops through the years, but never settled into a good routine.

One of my goals for this year is to start being on time to work. I finally got it in gear last week and was on time every day. It’s minor but gave me such a good feeling AND has meant I can leave work at 4:30 p.m. every day – how much do we love that?

Saturday morning I had to teach, so I got up early then too. Normally I’d sleep in on Sunday but yesterday morning, I tried to go back to sleep after waking up early and just couldn’t do it. Then this morning I woke up 20 minutes before my alarm went off and again could not fall back asleep. DEAR GOD. Is “the change” happening? Will I become a morning person? Next thing you know, I’ll be getting up at 5 a.m. to sing to my plants, run 10 miles, crochet blankets for the homeless, and make home-made bread. Maybe soon I’ll get up even earlier so I can actually style my hair instead of barely combing it, grunting, and running out the door. My goals are SO lofty!

I simply cannot discuss my success without thanking my new coffee maker. It has a timer so before I go to bed, I get it all ready to brew yummy, soothing java at 6:45 a.m. the next morning. The smell of it perking helps lure me from my warm nest, tricking me into submission with its devious beckon.

I don’t want to rejoice prematurely though. I’ll still have to be vigilant about getting up early enough so I have plenty of time to get to work by 8 a.m. Let’s hope I keep up my good behavior but if I start feeling tired at 6:30 p.m. and craving prune juice, I’m goin’ back to my old ways!

P.S. Yoplait Original 99% fat-free Cherry Orchard yogurt is SO DAMN GOOD.

P.P.S. I forgot to bring my coffee to work this morning and soon found myself in desperate need of a major energy jolt. I caved and got some coffee from the kitchen at work and milliseconds after the first sip was reminded of how disgustingly hideous it tastes. I wanted to rip my tongue out and use it to slap myself about the face.

Leave a Reply

