A Long Time Comin’

In May, I’ll have been at my new job for a year but I’m still constantly surprised at what a great position it is and how fortunate I am. Other than my few months at the magazine, I never suffered under tyrannical, irrational bosses but I did spend my fair share of time in relatively thankless positions with little room for growth. I garnered what I could from those jobs and spent the rest of my time freelancing, teaching, and trying to learn new skills. Now after several years of putting in my dues, I’ve managed to secure this incredible job but it hasn’t really sunk in. I’ve been waiting for the other shoe to drop. I’m not accustomed to being in a professional role and having managers take my thoughts and opinions so seriously. (I’m a SME?) In addition, everyone at my new job is SO FREAKIN’ NICE. I cannot get over how kind and warm they’ve been. Since my Dad’s in town, he was my dashing date for the work party Friday evening. Both my boss and my boss’s boss said such nice things about me to my Dad when in truth, at least in my opinion, my last year of employment has been mediocre at best. My supervisor has been so patient and is so confident in my abilities and I’m so, so grateful. Never have I needed leeway more and miraculously, all the cards have fallen into place. THANK GOD.

P.S. Amy and I had our weekly chat tonight and pondered many age-old questions, namely, what do you call the noise an elephant makes with its trunk? Her Hubs suggested “roar” but that doesn’t seem quite right. I don’t have any suggestions, but instead prefer shooting down other people’s ideas.

2 Responses to “A Long Time Comin’”

  1. PastaQueen Says:

    I think I’ve heard an elephant’s sound referred to as “trumpeting.”

  2. JayDub Says:

    PastaQueen is right.
    Trumpeting. I remember from a ceral commercial.

Leave a Reply

