This Just Can’t Be Summer Love

Yesterday on the way home from class (during the apocalyptic rain/snow storm) I heard JT’s latest single on the radio. I’m sure you know I’m a fan and since I bought his latest album last year and immediately fell in love with it, I’ve been curious which songs he’d release and in what order. Initially in my infinite wisdom spurred by my close relationship with Justin (I like to call him that when we’re in bed), I decided he wouldn’t release Summer Love as a single, but alas, I was wrong. I definitely dig that song with it’s thumpin’ beat and sharp harmonies. Because I’m a pondersome music dork, I think quite a bit about what might be behind the lyrics of an artist’s song. I’ve listened to FutureSex/LoveSounds over and over and made some pretty brilliant determinations about each of my favorite songs. (“This one has a good beat and I can dance to it!”) In my boob-flashing, stalker fan mind, he wrote Summer Love when he first started dating Cammie to express how much fun he was having and how he hoped their fling wouldn’t be just a summer romance. I even associated it with this familiar snap shot from a vacay they took not too long after they started dating. So driving down the highway yesterday when I heard Summer Love pouring through the speakers of my car, I sighed wistfully because of course JT and Cammie are splitsville. I can’t really say much about it but basically I’m the reason he kicked her to the curb. He just couldn’t hide his feelings for me any longer. Wonder what song he’ll write for me?

Leave a Reply

