Leaving for the Airport at 6:30 a.m. Blows

I just took my Mom to the airport – she’s flying to Ft. Lauderdale to visit Pappy for a week. I know it’s pretty unusual for a divorced couple to remain friends in the way my ‘rents are but I am so, so grateful for it. It would be terribly stressful if they were actively angry with one another and didn’t speak. They certainly don’t have a perfect relationship – there are problems and points of tension but overall they’ve managed to develop a loving, caring rapport.

On the way to work from the airport, I was listening to Morning Edition on NPR and heard a phone call between two parents whose sons were recently killed in Iraq. Both are managing but it wasn’t difficult to hear the shock and profound grief in their voices. I cannot imagine losing a child, especially in that manner. I instantly thought about Bernard, who left last fall to serve in Iraq. Not a day passes when I don’t think about him and pray he’s safe. When he left, my stubbornness and the state of our relationship after all that had transpired between us kept me from conveying to Bernard how much he means to me. He’s done so much for me – especially in the years after Chris and I broke up. He dedicated all this energy to making me feel good about myself and pretty and smart and desirable – it helped tremendously and I’ve never conveyed how thankful I am for that. I called him Tuesday evening and left a message. I’m not sure if we’ll be able to talk soon but I needed him to know I’m thinking about him, even though things have changed and there’s quite a bit we need to work out. Let’s hope all this madness will end as quickly as possible so everyone can return safely.

P.S. On a lighter note, check out yesterday’s token inexplicable search that lead to my blog. It’s a good ‘ne!

Um, yeah

One Response to “Leaving for the Airport at 6:30 a.m. Blows”

  1. PastaQueen Says:

    I read your searches and thought, “Wow, does Ryan Adams live in Louisville?” but then reread it and saw they wanted to see Ryan Adams perform live in Louisville.

Leave a Reply

