Thank You For Being A Friend

I had one hell of a night. I worked most of the day yesterday and didn’t get home until around 10 p.m. After a late dinner, I ordered some goodies from Urban Outfitters and hit the hay around midnight. I spent the next four hours tossing and turning, trying desperately to get comfy and doze off. I felt tired but could not fall asleep. I got up a few times and resituated myself, all to no avail. Meanwhile Abby snored happily, opening one eye to glare at me every time I got out of bed. Finally around 4:30 a.m., I huffed into the living room, threw a Golden Girls DVD into the player, and cuddled up on the couch. Two episodes later I was fast asleep…just in time to get up in an hour. Hmph. 

While I was still in bed, I watched a late-night episode of Rob & Big on MTV. Have you seen that show? Holy balls – it’s hysterical! Rob is skateboarder Rob Dyrdek and Big is his bodyguard. They have this great comedic chemistry made more endearing by what seems like a genuine friendship. Their crazy convos are peppered with the funniest colloquialisms so I laugh even when they’re just shootin’ the breeze. If you have a sec, check out this clip from last week’s episode. Rob bought a Hyper Dimensional Resonator time machine from some nutjob. Of course the machine didn’t work but Rob wasn’t ready to give up yet. Big reluctantly agreed to go with him to Canada to meet this other nutter who had his own time machine. Needless to say, hilarity ensued. The clip is a little more than six minutes long but it’s worth it, especially toward the end when Big destroys their machine.

P.S. Now that I think about it, I didn’t sleep well Saturday night either. I need a new mattress like nobody’s business but they’re SO expensive. I’ve thought about getting an IKEA one but don’t know if it would hold up. I’d really love a Sleep Number bed but I could rock it old school and get a velour-bedecked water bed, complete with lava lamp, black light, and fuzzy poster. That would really impress the fellas.

P.P.S. I just talked to my office crush in the kitchen and I may’ve drooled on him a little. When he said he did yard work this weekend (party animal), my mind was flooded with images of him laboring under the hot sun, arms glistening with sweat. He pauses to wipe his brow and in a flash of heathen desire, forgos the tedious manual labor in favor of making sweet, sweet love to me. Heh – I love a post script that’s only a “throbbing member” or two away from a bad Harlequin novel!

2 Responses to “Thank You For Being A Friend”

  1. Kriss Says:

    Okay, how have I made it my entire adult life without buying anything from Urban Outfitters????? The dinnerware – so cute!

    We need a new mattress & boxspring, too, & holy crap – I could buy a small used car for what it’s gonna cost. Some friends of ours have a TempurPedic, & they paid the equivalent of a new car!

    Get some sleep tonight, sweetpea. May you have bosom-heaving, bodice-ripping, throbbingly yummy dreams tonight! 🙂

  2. Thimbleanna Says:

    Go easy on the office crush imagery while standing next to him — something embarrassing might slip out! 😉 Hey, is there an Ikea in Indy? Thanks for visiting — glad you like the thumbtacks — they’re super fun to make.

Leave a Reply

