Inspi(RED)

I just had a fun dinner with a group of friends. We went to Maggiano’s, an Italian restaurant I’ve been meaning to try. We happened to go because a friend’s son plays the piano there. He’s 20-years-old and getting ready to live in India for 6 months. He’s gotten really into Buddhism (which has always fascinated me) and even has a guru he’ll be studying with while staying in an ashram. What an incredible opportunity – I think it says a lot about him that he’s choosing to go. Most 20-year-olds are sharing drunken triple kisses at Dave & Busters while he sleeps on the floor and meditates twice a day. He’s inspired me enough that I’m hoping to write a story about him – maybe even a series about his experiences in India. It felt good to have my inner-journalist compelled to write again. Once I heard his story, I had a million questions I wanted to ask. (It doesn’t hurt that he’s easy on the peepers.) He’s leaving next Tuesday, but will have access to e-mail while he’s gone. Hopefully we can work out a way to keep in touch. Exciting!

Leave a Reply

