Wondering What To Do With That Cucumber?

No need for it to disintegrate into a putrid, oozing heap, forgotten in a dark corner of your fridge’s veggie drawer in the manner I’ve mercilessly perpetrated so many times – make a fresh summer salad instead! I whipped up one last night, a favorite of mine even though I’ve never been a big fan of cucumbers. It’s very easy to make. The exact ingredients’ measurements depend on your taste prefs. You’ll need:

  • 1 slender English cucumber, diced or thinly sliced
  • 2 tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • Edited to add: Forgot to mention a key ingredient – 1/2 an onion, diced or sliced paper thin
  • A splash of olive oil
  • A splash of balsamic vinegar
  • Dill
  • S & P

Combine and enjoy! It gets better as the veggies mellow in the yummy EVOO (someone please poke Rachael Ray with a stick)/BV mixture.

And speaking of yummy vittles (I’ve been meaning to mention this and don’t think I have but if I have please forgive my fragile lucidity), I found out Indy will soon have a Fresh Market grocery store and I can’t wait! Growing up in North Carolina, my parents shopped at one often. I was always impressed by the dizzying array of stunning colors, textures, and aromas. Among a myriad of products, there were mountains of fruits and veggies I’d never seen before and tempting bouquets packed with exotic blossoms. Everything about the store was so succulent – a playground for the senses. I especially remember the heady, bright smell of the orange coffee my Mom bought – her ultimate fave. She hasn’t lived near a Fresh Market for quite some time so my Dad got her some of the citrus java for Christmas since there are several locations near him in Florida.

Another reason I remember The Fresh Market so well is because of a nearby store called Flamingo Road, which I always got to visit whenever we grocery shopped. You probably won’t be surprised to learn it was a stationary joint. Even at that tender ago, I couldn’t resist the scrumptious paper, cool pens and pencils, and fun plastic containers (that could even be personalized!) For my birthday one year, a friend got me one of those containers – a big, neon pink affair bearing my handle, proudly spelled out in round, brightly-colored letters. When I unwrapped that present I nearly passed out, ecstatic that after the many hours I’d spent lusting I was finally the proud owner of one of Flamingo Road’s trademark funky receptacles. I still use that box for my ridiculously-enormous collection of markers and frankly would be hard-pressed to give it up, despite the Saved-by-the-Bell stylin’s it conjures these days.

I spent awhile yesterday marveling at the awesome pics Linda of All & Sundry took during her fam’s recent Oregon vacation. It’s shameful to say but I had NO idea Oregon is so beautiful. Why are we not there RIGHT NOW? We could be eating these blueberries, dipping our toes in this river, and soothing our weary eyes beholding this sunset. We need to get to gettin’ – who’s with me?!

P.S. Sugar-free jello loses its already tenuous position in the “flavorful” category once it’s lingered in your purse all day.

Leave a Reply

