I Hurt Myself Rescuing a Baby from a Burning Building…

…certainly not falling out of bed last night…twice. I have a queen size bed so there’s plenty of room to sprawl and certainly enough to prevent nocturnal suicide dives, but I still ended up in a heap on the flo’ in the middle of the night…TWICE. After the first fall, I awoke to find myself sweaty, shaking, and poised on my knees ready for flight. I was so confused and didn’t recognize anything in my room. I climbed back in bed and felt a tremendous relief when I realized that whatever I’d been so afraid of was just a dream. But by the time my alarm went off this morning, I’d forgotten what the dream was about. In the shower I tutted over the bumps and bruises on my elbow and knee and longed for more sedentary slumber.

I didn’t sleep at all Monday night because my Dad and I were up until 4 a.m. talking through some stuff. After work yesterday, I wanted to go straight to bed but was afraid that would mess up my sleep even more so I swam some laps at the pool instead. It felt wonderful – exhilarating but relaxing.

I tried Hungry Girl’s ‘nana smoothie last night. It was tasty but I made a huge mess and quickly learned why – my blender is cracked. A sweet friend gave it to me as a house warming gift when I first moved to Indy. (Let the record show that he also got me a naughty board game called “Who Would You Do” and another party favorite that involves plastic rings and an inflatable banana.) My blender’s certainly had a good run, from hummus to margaritas. Farewell, old friend!

I had a Pay It Forward moment at Panera this morning. I stopped to get some coffee and a bagel (with peanut butter, natch.) I went to the restroom, where I found a Mom and her two kiddies. About 30 seconds after they’d left the restroom, the Mom popped her head back in and said, “I told the manager there are no paper towels left, so she’s getting some. In the meantime, here are some napkins.” Wasn’t that nice? Yay for the Terlet Angel!

P.S. I got PB on my shirt, a stain so stalwart it’s eluded the power of the Almighty Tide Pen.

5 Responses to “I Hurt Myself Rescuing a Baby from a Burning Building…”

  1. PastaQueen Says:

    OMG, on the bottom of that recipe page is a recipe involving an apple and Diet Dr. Pepper. Must try! I will report back my results.

  2. Amelia Says:

    Forget the Tide Pen. Shout Wipes are superior. :p

  3. Kriss Says:

    Did someone say “Margarita”?!?! 🙂

    And is it weird that I’ve never had peanut butter on a bagel?

  4. Well, I never . . . « Zookins Says:

    […] 5) I’ve never eaten peanut butter on a bagel. (Thanks, Mymsie!) […]

  5. PastaQueen Says:

    I tried the Diet Dr. Pepper apple last night and it was pretty good, but it didn’t taste as Dr. Pepper-y as I’d hoped. It really didn’t taste all that different than if I’d used Splenda. Oh well! Still kind of fun to cook with soda.

Leave a Reply

