Pumped

Am I the only blogger who’s never read any Harry Pothead books or seen any of the movies? I’ve heard the books are great but the subject-matter doesn’t pique my interest in the slightest. I did notice when Daniel Radcliffe, the kid who plays Potter in the films, recently stripped on stage for his role in Equus. (Yowsa!) Is that wrong?

Lean and I hung out for a bit on Saturday and she revealed a dark secret – her Mom is a BIG ol’ Harry Potter fan. Apparently she dressed up in an elaborate costume for the much-extolled book 7 release at her local bookstore. So fantastic was her get-up, she won a Best Costume award! Lean said she’s never heard her Mom so excited about anything in her entire life. She even quipped, “I’m so pumped” which makes me feel insufferably unhip.

P.S. What the hell is a muggle?

2 Responses to “Pumped”

  1. zookins Says:

    I haven’t read the books yet, either. I have them all . . . but haven’t been able to carve out the time to really sink my teeth into them.

    A muggle is a person who doesn’t have magical abilities.

    Honestly, I like the idea of supporting J.K. Rowling, for going from a single mother “on the dole” to becoming the richest woman in Britain. I idolize her for taking the characters she created as a bedtime story for her daughter, and turning them into (arguably) the most successful literary series of all time.

  2. Amy Says:

    I don’t get the Harry Potter thing either. My mom is also a fan. Eh… I’d rather have kids getting excited about reading than Lindsey Lohan. Meanwhile my 11-y.o. cousin asked her mom the other day if Harry Potter (of whom she’s a big fan) was against God. Her _teacher_ told her that. Keep your moral opinions to yourself, lady.

Leave a Reply

