Something To Work On

This morning:

Pappy: You look like you’ve lost some weight since I’ve been here.
Me: What’s that piece of paper on the floor? Is that yours?

Ten minutes later, while Pappy was browsing through some prints of pictures I got for Moxy’s b-day gift:

Pappy: You look so pretty in all these pictures. You’re the prettiest one!
Me: All the pictures have weird lines in them!

UGH – it’s so obnoxious when people can’t take compliments, especially from a family member. It’s all very indicative of my head-space right now.

After the experience I’ve had in the last few days, it’s unlikely that I’ll ever get prints at CVS again. I uploaded pics to KodakGallery.com and placed a same-day-pick-up order. All the pictures in the first set of prints had lines in the middle of them. Then several of the pics in the re-do batch had random blobs on them. Let’s hope the third time’s the charm. I’ve gotten prints from digital pics at CVS before and never had problems, but this has been bananas. Every fotomat rat Photographic Reproduction Technician I’ve chatted with has sounded at best, stoned, and at worst, well let me just remind you that all the ingredients for making meth can be purchased at CVS, unkay?

In other narcotic news, last weekend I watched part of The Drug Years, a documentary about the history of drug use in the United States and the cultural phenomenas related to it. Part of the footage captured the nomadic, welcoming spirit of Haight-Ashbury in the 60s. People came to San Francisco in droves to explore and learn about themselves in an accepting environment full of free-thinkers. “Like A Rolling Stone” played in the background during part of the documentary, with Dylan steadily pondering “How does it fee-eeeeel? To be on your own? With no direction home? A complete unknown? Like a rollin’ stone!” The song feels a bit like a karmic ode to a judgemental spoiled girl with a misplaced air of invincibility who’s fallen from grace and now fights to survive in a world where material things are useless. The silver lining of this bereft uncertainty is an infallible freedom and boundlessness. It really struck a chord with me. I finally got around to downloading it today and have been listening all day. I love the jingly, free-wheeling piano, bluesy organ, and teasing tambourine.

I’m heading home to get dolled up for Moxy’s small-but-fun-packed birthday party tonight. Hope you have a rip roarin’ evening too!

3 Responses to “Something To Work On”

  1. Kriss Says:

    Have fun at the birthday party, and have a happy happy weekend!

    And Zoey says thanks to Abbykins for the birthday smoochies, too!! 🙂

  2. sandy Says:

    dude – you have to try costco for getting pics developed! you can get them blown up to crazy sizes MUCH cheaper than on kodak gallery – but i usually get them from kodak, too, ’cause i’m lazy.

  3. PastaQueen Says:

    I usually just tell people “Thanks” when they compliment me. It took me awhile to get the hang of it, but I’m pretty good at it now.

Leave a Reply

