I was hoping to do a bit o’ blogging yesterday but I got some bad news that threw me for a loop. I found out an acquaintance of mine killed himself last week. In truth I barely knew him – we met several months ago at a support group. The last time I saw him was a few weeks ago when I had dinner with him and some other friends. At the time I could tell he was sad and I hadn’t seen him in awhile, so I should’ve known he was having a hard time. It was palpable how uncomfortable he was and even though I had no idea what was going on in his life, I wanted to hug him and tell him everything would be OK. He was very quiet and polite, withdrawn but gentle – still I didn’t know how to approach him. I wish so much that I’d done more to reach out to him. He was only 25-years-old and apparently struggled with mental illness. So sad. 😦 The next time I feel an inkling to let someone know I’m on their team, you can be certain I will. This also makes me thankful for my blessings and reluctant to complain about ridiculous problems like the flustered chicken noise the air conditioner in the Goose is making.

I can’t think of a graceful, appropriate way to transition to the other pithy topics on the tip of my tongue at the moment so I’ll close this post and start anew. I guess that’s all you can do when something like this happens.

One Response to “…”

  1. Kriss Says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry. Even the loss of a casual acquaintance under these circumstances is heartbreaking.

    I sometimes see people who are so sad, and I just want to reach out & hug them, too. For that matter, sometimes I wish someone would reach out and hug ME.

Leave a Reply

