Hair Makeover

The other day someone walked past my office, backtracked, and peeked her head in the door. She asked, “Are you letting your hair grow long?” I thought about it for a moment and realized I didn’t have a plan. “It’s getting really long,” she said and when I paid attention, I noticed she was right. Then I started to wonder, what the hell am I doing with my hair. I definitely need a trim but should I get a lot cut off or keep it longer? I’ve also thought about bangs – I think the long, side-swept ones look so pretty. The problem is that if I had bangs I’d have to straighten them everyday and well, some days it’s a miracle I even have time to put on pants in the morning so I don’t see myself getting up super early to primp.

Earlier today, I followed a link to InStyle magazine’s online Hollywood Hair Makeover and decided to give it go. I found a straight-on pic of me, cropped out my real ‘do, and uploaded the image. Then I went through tons of pictures of celebrities and applied their hairstyles to my enormous bald head. I’ve played with these types of sites before but found this one works very well and has fun features. You can even add highlights and lowlights to your hair color but I mainly focused on choosing different styles. Here are the results:

Cameron Diaz Me Eva Longoria Me Gwen Stefani Me
Cameron Diaz Me Eva Longoria Me Gwen Stefani Me
Gwyneth Paltrow Me Halle Berry Me Jennifer Lopez Me
Gwyneth Paltrow Me Halle Berry Me Jennifer Lopez Me
Lucy Liu Me Patricia Arquette Me Sandra Bullock Me
Lucy Liu Me Patricia Arquette Me Sandra Bullock Me

My thoughts:

  1. Oh my God, I have a big head.
  2. My face is definitely heart shaped.
  3. My cheeks are too round for a short ‘do (like Halle’s) or one that accentuates the cheekbones (like Gwen Stefani’s, even though I love that style on her.)
  4. I don’t think blond or black suit my complexion.
  5. Gwyneth Paltrow has gorgeous hair (but she irritates the hell out of me.)
  6. Don’t anger me or I’ll poke you with my pointy chin!
  7. I like the Patricia Arquette look more than I thought I would.
  8. I think my favorite is J Lo Me but Gwyneth’s and Eva’s styles slim my face.

Whatcha think?

10 Responses to “Hair Makeover”

  1. sandy Says:

    EvaEvaEva! I wish I’d known about that site before I went to the salon a few days ago!
    oh – ps – i’m now just using firefox’s free live bookmarks instead of a feedreader. it’s not perfect, but it’s working fine for me.

  2. Christine Says:

    Awesome post. What fun is this??!
    I am really liking the Eva Longoria look. I would not have even known that was a photoshop. 🙂

    I do think that I will be playing on the site tonight. Have a good one.

  3. Kriss Says:

    I think you look smoldering hot in the Sandra Bullock hair!

    And girl, please – you do NOT have a huge head! With that being said, though, I always feel like I need to have some form of big hair, to balance out my big butt. 😉

  4. Maxine Dangerous Says:

    I love The Eva on you. 🙂

  5. PastaQueen Says:

    I like the Eva look too, but I could go for the J-Lo look in a different color.

  6. Creekle Says:

    I’m personally fond of the Eva look – I think what about this cut “works” for you are the soft layers around the face. Very flattering! As for color, I’d go for the Sandra color, but perhaps just a touch darker.

  7. Amy Says:

    I thought Halle’s hair was the best on you! Admittedly I just like girls w/short hair and have a hard time liking any other style. Not that I’ve ever HAD short hair like that… gotta have the right head for that.

  8. A-frame Says:

    B-fore reading all these vote-ments, I vibed on Eva-Mymsie. Having read these vote-ments, I totally agree with most of the above and chant EVA EVA EVA! I love it for you. That style with the J Lo or the Sandra color.

    My hair is LARGE and IN CHARGE tonight – v. curly and humidified.

  9. Sarah Says:

    Definitely Eva!

  10. Amelia Says:

    1st choice Eva, 2nd choice Sandra Bullock, but IME bangs are a PITA.

Leave a Reply

