Robbed

Peanut Butter
Awesome pic by tygerly

I’m sure I’ve mentioned how I can’t keep peanut butter in the house. It’s definitely a trigger food for me, so I can only indulge in controlled portions. Panera makes this quite easy by providing single servings of peanut butter in cute little to-go cups. I forgot my breakfast today and I’ve done well this week so I decided to treat myself and pick up a blueberry bagel with peanut butter. I popped out to retrieve my prize. Once back in my office, mouth watering, I slunk down into my chair and peaked inside my Panera bag. And what did my eyes behold? One pristine blueberry bagel and 3 napkins. … THEY FORGOT MY PEANUT BUTTER! I can’t tell you how upsetting this is. Panera? If you’re listening, don’t ever come between a girl and her perfectly reasonable serving of peanut butter! I promise it will bad for business, especially when I stage a protest outside your doors and spread vicious rumors that you force homeless, gluten intolerant, peanut-allergy-having orphans to work for 2¢/hour and the occasional scrap of day-old bread. Don’t mess with a junkie!

P.S. If you too are an addict, I’d advise you not search Flickr for ‘peanut butter’ pics because if you do, you’ll be confronted with things like this or this, which are simply too delicious looking to be real.

P.P.S. Have you ever tried Better’n Peanut Butter? Girrrrrrl, it is the bomb and so much lower in fat and calories than regular peanut butter.

6 Responses to “Robbed”

  1. SweetBasta Says:

    You didn’t mention if you prefer smooth or chunky peanut butter. You realize what panera is doing don’t you. They give you the first couple of PB packets for free, but then when you keep coming back they start charging you extra, and then to keep you in line they cut you back just so you will know who is in charge. You forgot about the homeless, gluten intolerant, peanut-allergy-having orphans also being impoverished. Wow it is easy to forget other’s pain when you are having it rough yourself isn’t it?Does Abby like peanut butter?

  2. Kriss Says:

    Oh, now I want some peanut butter.

    A new restaurant just opened up south of me called P.B. Loco. I don’t know how to insert a link, but if you copy/paste http://www.pbloco.com/cafes_menu.asp you can see their menu. I’m dying to try the Razzlie Dazzlie.

    I’ve been avoiding it like the plague, because I would bring a bag of pretzel sticks and sit in their parking lot ALL DAY eating peanut butter pretzels if I could.

  3. Diana the Scale Junkie Says:

    I’m a peanut butter junkie too. I’ve traded in the regular for natural to give up the trans fats but still, give me peanut butter and raspberry jam on whole grain and I swear I’ll never cheat on my diet again..really..honestly…okay that only works some days.

    Kriss…I had to go to that link…make mine a Loco Coco please!

  4. Christine Says:

    If you read my blog you will also notice that I have a peanut butter addiction. If my brand is in the cupboard – I could eat the whole jar without thinking. No bread – just with a spoon. Its a bad thing.

    I make my husband buy a different brand – the crunchy one that I hate – so that I will stay away from it. Although there have been days where I have thought about sucking the peanut butter off the nuts and putting the nuts back in the jar. 🙂

  5. Amy Says:

    One of our rowing coaches owns a cereal and homemade peanut butter place in Bloomington. http://www.cerealbarn.com/homepage.htm

    I hope to go there next time I’m in town!

  6. Chubby Chick Says:

    Mmmm… peanut butter! I’ve never tried the Better’n Peanut Butter, but I usually have Jif peanut butter for breakfast. I spread 1 tablespoon on a piece of whole wheat toast or bagel. It’s kind of a daily treat. And it keeps me away from the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups… which are something I love and used to eat all the time before I started my diet.

Leave a Reply

