Avast Me Hardys

Today is Talk Like a Pirate Day, which means I get to say things like “poop deck” and “bunghole” without shame…well, with less shame than any 31-year-old with a parrot on her shoulder would normally feel. At my old job, we got really into this beloved holiday. Mr. Keester even got all of us pirate flags to proudly display in our cubes. Sometimes we swashbuckled in the copy room too. If that’s not the life of a pirate, I don’t know what is!

Last night I taught a Photoshop class. Everything went very smoothly except one of the participants had a complete and total meltdown right after class started. It was B-A-N-A-N-A-S! He was shouting and freaking out. (Maybe it was the pizza delivery guy?) I’ve never experienced anything like it. My heart was pounding – I was worried he might get physical. It was very nerve wracking. My immediate instinct was to get him out of the classroom ASAP so I said, “Why don’t you chat with the assistant out in the hall.” Once everything was sorted out, I thought about making a joke to smooth things over – something like, “I guess he thought this was a pottery class” but he had come with a woman and she was still in class. I figured they might be related so I just smiled and marched onward, acting like nothing happened. After he left it was smooth sailing. It’s a difficult class to teach because Photoshop is so vast and overwhelming in all it can do. Fortunately that also means the class is full of lots of “Oooo!” and “Ahhh!” moments when the participants see what Photoshop is capable of. It’s really cool to watch them learn and hear them tut over features, my favorites of which involve slimming my tummy and erasing blemishes in photos.

P.S. Just so you know, my pirate name is Captain Bess Rackham. RESPECT

7 Responses to “Avast Me Hardys”

  1. kim Says:

    ha, my pirate name is Red Bess Kidd 🙂

  2. KNH Says:

    I ended up as Captain Ethel Cash. Ethel??!? WTH kind of pirate name is Ethel? Sounds more like the floral housecoat-wearing, kindly aunt of Johnny Cash. Here, little Johnny! Auntie Ethel has some peppermints! Arrrr!

  3. Amy Says:

    Here’s what I posted last year on this date:
    A pirate walks into a bar. He’s got the huge steering wheel of his ship hanging from his belt buckle! The bartender notices this and says, “Matey! Ya know ya got the steering wheel of a ship hangin’ from yer belt buckle thar?”

    And the Pirate replies, “AAAYYEE! It’s drivin’ me nuts!”

  4. Amy Says:

    Oh, and I’m Iron Anne Rackham

  5. Kriss Says:

    WTF was up with the photoshop psycho?!? Yikes!

    Have you started using Lightroom? The Husband got it for me for a bday present, but I haven’t started using it yet.

    I wish you lived closer. Ima skeerred of photoshop and all it’s capable of.

  6. Maxine Dangerous Says:

    I should take one of your classes. I am baffled by things in Photoshop Elements. Hold me. 🙂

    Also, in pirate world, we’re totally related! 😀

  7. SweetBasta Says:

    My pirate name is: Rotting Diego Dagger

    Next time you teach a photoshop class and they go on with complete amazement at the bells and whistles. Just let them know that you created them in order to better humanity. Then they will bow before you and fetch you beverages(frosty ones!)

Leave a Reply

