My First Giveaway

Collapsible Bucket

I finally finished my latest sewing project, a collapsible fabric bucket. It’s made from a heaver fabric called duck and a sort of Asian toile. I followed this pattern, which is very clear and has lots of helpful photos. I had a lot of firsts sewing this, including properly pinning and sewing circles (more difficult than it sounds) and making buttonholes. It took me awhile to interpret my sewing machine manual’s instructions but once I figured it out, I was so excited I kind of wanted to make buttonholes in everything I own! The best part is that the bucket collapses into this:

Collapsible Bucket Collapsed

Cool, huh? You could leave it in your car or keep it in your bag and use it instead of plastic bags for smaller shopping trips. Abby wanted to use it as her travel bag, since her kibble, bone, and a few toys fit in it perfectly:

Abby With Bucket

Nice try pup!

I’ll be testing several different patterns in the coming months so I thought I’d have giveaways to unload my creations. Keep in mind that this bucket is far from perfect, since I’m still a beginner. My novice will be evident, for example, if you happen to look closely and notice that the toile is upside down. Oops! You can overlook that, right?

So, here’s the scoop: Leave a comment on this post by midnight next Monday, October 15th. I’ll use a random number generator to pick a winner, whom I’ll contact and happily mail the prize to. Good luck!

P.S. Sorry the pics are over-exposed. My camera = poo.

15 Responses to “My First Giveaway”

  1. Lesha Says:

    Count me in! πŸ™‚

  2. Amy Says:

    Nice job! And Abby looks very dapper next to the bucket. Maybe you can submit it for dog of the day…?

  3. SweetBasta Says:

    I cannot be seen using a bucket that has toile on it. I am curious about the duck fabric though. Turn it over and use the strap as a chin strap and you will have a nice waterproof hat. Very fashionable. You should market these to impoverished children in Croatia.

    Pato, pato, pato

  4. Ro Zan Says:

    Hey, I am all about the homemade craft items. I could wear my original Mymsie owl pin while I shop with my bucket!

  5. DLT Says:

    Can I have the cute pup also if I win?!!!

  6. Amy Says:

    Gotta love confusing the Walmart cashiers with bring-your-own-bag! (I have enough so don’t count this as an entry in the contest. πŸ™‚

    I saw a canvas tote in a veg mag the other day that had bold printing all over it: STOP USING PLASTIC BAGS. I guess that’ll get your msg across! Can’t believe they wanted $20 for it. I bought my favorite tote for $2.

  7. The Bumpster Says:

    Since the bucket is made with heaver material, if I get sick I can just heave into the bucket. Is this thing guaranteed not to leak?

  8. Maxine Dangerous Says:

    As I do not even know what toile is to begin with, I think it will be okay if mine is upside down. πŸ™‚

  9. Lorie Says:

    I would love to have a Mymsie collapsible fabric bucket! It would be such a waste to give it to one of the guys, since all they plan to do is either hurl in it or float it on the canal (which I bet Sweetbasta will do since it’s made from duck fabric.)

  10. Katie Says:

    Very well done. Nice to see that pattern in action. :o) How do you get your dog to smile?

  11. Christine Says:

    You are very talented! Sign me up! I already know that I would use it! πŸ™‚ Take care!

  12. Kriss Says:

    Ooooh, pick me! Pick me!

    I love how it folds down to practically nothing. It would fit perfectly in the storage thingie between my two front seats. Yanno, for sneaking in secret girl things as the need arises.

    Of course, secret girl things might just be code for “big cans of salted cashews I don’t want my husband to eat”. :o)

  13. KNH Says:

    Wait a second…thought I left a comment begging for sewing lessons…so maybe someone else’s blog has the wrong comment on it? I should leave a totally irrelevant comment here to balance the universe.

    You guys are totally wrong…episode StarDate 43.1.264 was the best ever! Picard rocks!

  14. Lisa Says:

    I think your dog is smiling at me. :o) And I LOVE the buckets!

  15. LSantos Says:

    ohhh I hope I’m still on time, the little bucket is perfect for my fresh goods shopping at the local farmer market πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.


