Unite!

Bloggers Unite - Blog Action Day

A few weeks ago, Mox and I scored free tickets from Indiana Living Green magazine to see The 11th Hour, Leonardo DiCaprio’s documentary about our planet’s environmental crises. I learned that if earth’s time line measured one year, humans only entered the picture at what amounts to 15 minutes before midnight. I also learned that in that short time, our lifestyle has had devastating effects on the planet. I learned that the solutions we need are right in front of us. For example, to produce Kevlar, a nearly impervious fiber, we generate a disturbing amount of harmful industrial waste while spiders create webs that are five times stronger than steel using only water and their own energy. I learned that we have to rethink design and disengage from consumerism. I learned that this movement will create jobs and in turn fuel growth and prosperity. I learned that if we love our home, we’ll unite to change our leadership and engage in change instead of fighting.

After the film, many Indianapolis-based activists stayed to chat about what we can do locally to make a difference and to publicize the goods and services that are available to help us create a sustainable way of life. Sure, it was only a handful of people in a small arts theatre in a conservative state, but in listening to all our voices, I heard a resounding message: TOGETHER WE CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE. I left the theatre that evening feeling empowered and hopeful but acutely aware that I can no longer passively commit to change. I knew I had to actively make changes in my lifestyle — changes that are inconvenient and time-consuming — but essential to begin reversing the devastating impact humankind (me included!) has had on our planet. Since then, I’ve made an effort to:

  • Vigilantly recycle as much as possible
  • Carry re-usable totes to use instead of plastic bags
  • Be more conscious of my consumption and try to re-use and re-purpose existing resources instead of buying more

There is still so much more to be done.

On Saturday November 3rd, I’m participating in a rally in Indianapolis to shine a spotlight on the climate crisis. We’ll be asking our political leaders and candidates to do something about bringing us into a clean energy future. There are similar rallies all over the nation. Find one near you or start your own. The impact of these efforts will make a tremendous difference.

2 Responses to “Unite!”

  1. Bluebeetle(one) Says:

    That’s good to see this documentary rose your environmental conscience.

    Indeed there is no little action, everything matters.

    There’s a time for reflexion & another one for action.

    Congrats!
    Bluebeetle(one).

  2. westwardbound Says:

    Thanks for making me aware of the Indiana Green website, although I totally missed the 10/15 action day on my own blog. Too much packing going on…with resused boxes, newspaper and peanuts from the last move, of course 😛

Leave a Reply

