This & That

We have a lot to get caught up on so I’m going to dive right in. First off, please indulge me while I gush for a sentence or two. Last night I taught a Dreamweaver workshop and got the sweetest comment from one student’s evaluation:

“The instructor was phenomenal. I really enjoyed the depth she gave the instruction. The sidebars in which she explained the reasons for each step were very helpful.”

Could you die? It really made my day! In general I find that it doesn’t take much for students to make negative comments but they have to be bowled over to say something positive, so I’m especially chuffed. I really love teaching and I guess it shows. And to think I only had to pay the student five bucks to say all that rubbish! Kidding…(maybe.)

Secondly, would any of you be interested in participating in a Secret Santa swap for the holidays? I’d be happy to host it and I’ve even found a site to help me organize everything. Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

So guess what Lean and Moxy and I are doing tonight. Carving pumpkins – I’m so excited! I’ve been looking online for fun carving templates. I’d love to create a Jack-o’-Lantern in Abby-dogg’s likeness but I don’t think I have the carving skillz to accomplish such a lofty goal. I’m planning on saving some of the pumpkin seeds to toast in the oven. Any recommendations for yummy herbs or seasonings to mix in?

In other holiday news, faithful reader and dear friend Don Kramer has alerted me to a very disturbing trend. Apparently black Christmas trees are all the rage this year. I’m told they’re to be draped in white lights and gold and silver baubles, a combination so tacky I can barely type it without my fingers sticking to the keyboard. I nearly always prefer traditional holiday decorations but I’m not totally averse to spicing things up now and then. That said, I cannot foresee a time when a black Christmas tree will shadow my hearth. Thoughts?

5 Responses to “This & That”

  1. westwardbound Says:

    A big N-O on the black trees. A big YES! to a Santa Swap.

  2. Marta Says:

    I’ve never done a swap before. Secret Santa sounds like fun…

    Black Christmas trees? No. Thank. You.

  3. Amelia Says:

    My mom always tossed the pumpkin seeds with soy sauce before toasting them.

  4. Lisa Says:

    I’d love to be in on the Secret Santa Swap!

  5. Kriss Says:

    Sorry I’m so late to the party! I’d love to do a secret santa swap, too. 🙂

    And black trees are just wrong. Even worse than the hot pink feather ones making the rounds. Blech.

Leave a Reply

