What a Way to Start the Week

I should’ve listened to my produciary (totally made up that word) intuition this morning but I was in a hurry and despite noticing a suspicious-looking piece of pineapple thought, “Panera would never sell me rotten fruit salad. Certainly not fruit salad that cost $2.99.” Oh, how wrong was I. Inside the innocent-looking vessel proudly sporting the Panera logo, I found untold horrors – gooey, flavorless pineapple, mushy cantaloupe, and squidgy honeydew. None of it was fit to eat, save four lonely grapes barely clinging to their ripeness. This was no ordinary fruit salad. No! It was The Insane Fruit Salad of Death, known to you and me as The ifSOD.

Moving along, how was your weekend? Mine was fun, although it didn’t unfold as planned. I was supposed to attend Nuno’s and Er-bear’s Halloween party in Chicago but didn’t, for reasons that are too tedious to enumerate. The resulting predicament is that I have A LOT of felt now – felt which I’d originally purchased to make my costume. Don’t fret though. I’ll just tuck it away for next year and perhaps tap my supply for holiday ornament making.

Mox and I saw Into the Wild this weekend and it was fantastic. I’ve been anxiously awaiting this movie because Sean Penn wrote the screen play and directed it and well, he’s pretty much the bee’s knees in my book. (Did you see him on Real Time with Bill Maher? His political insights are so spot on. I wanted to dive into the TV and make out with him.) I also ♥ Jon Krakauer, who wrote the book the movie was based on. His meticulous attention to detail and vivid, precise descriptions take reading to a new level, making you feel a part of each moment of the story. I was mesmerized by Into Thin Air and wanted to read Into the Wild but didn’t because I mistakenly thought the story was violent. Now that I know more about it, I’d love to read the book. The movie adaptation was incredible – visually stunning, a bit dark, deeply tragic, haunting, and somehow still triumphant. I also loved that while the main character lauded self-imposed isolation, he ultimately acknowledged that happiness is meaningless unless it’s shared.

Although I loved the movie, it was relatively intense so Saturday evening, Lean and Mox and I opted for something light. I painted a cutie Halloween sign for Lean’s place while we watched This Is Spinal Tap, which is more and more hysterical every time I see it. I know I’ve said this before but Christopher Guest is my hero!

P.S. Have I mentioned my obsession with books and movies based on stories of people overcoming insurmountable odds? I can’t get enough of that genre. One of my favorite examples of this is the docu-drama Touching the Void. If you haven’t seen it, you must must must and don’t show your face here again until you have!

P.P.S. Kisses!

2 Responses to “What a Way to Start the Week”

  1. westwardbound Says:

    I can’t wait to see Into the Wild. I used it as a primary text for a Research Writing class I taught in grad school and chose it because I thought there were so many interesting themes the students cold lock into. I’m curious to see what Penn chose as the most intriguing for a film version. I’ll have to wait for it on Netflix, as I do for most movies. Sigh. Anyway, it’s definitely worth a read (and it’s short) because there’s a lot of great stuff going on in the book.

  2. Marta Says:

    I am also a huge fan of Touching the Void. I love how at the beginning you’re all like, “I’m not getting too attached to THIS guy.” But by the time the guy has dragged himself all the way down to the boulder field, and is hallucinating that catchy pop song and peeing all over himself, you’re shouting, “Go! Man, GO! You can do it!”

Leave a Reply

