Holiday Ditties

This weekend while I sewed and worked on Christmas cards, I listened to lots of great holiday music. I had to play the Messiah a few times because it’s such a phenomenal body of work. It boggles my mind that Handel composed it in 24 days. One of my favorite parts is “Let us break their bonds asunder.” Isn’t “asunder” a great word? It’s so arcane. I’ve tried to think of ways to incorporate it into modern vernacular but “I tore the crust of my toast asunder” just doesn’t sound quite right.

Another one of my favorite parts of the Messiah is “And the glory of the Lord” in part one. I remember working so hard to perfect it in different choirs over the years. It’s so hopeful and bright and I especially love the booming, insistent “for the mouth of the Lord hath spoken it” parts.

Are you guys asleep yet? My all-time most favorite Christmas album is Christmas Portrait by the Carpenters. My Mom always played it while baking cookies around the holidays. I know every bit by heart and can’t help but sing. Karen Carpenter’s voice is like supple, lush indigo velvet.

In closing, Grandma got run over by a reindeer!

3 Responses to “Holiday Ditties”

  1. lydia Says:

    My favorite Christmas album is the Elvis Christmas Album. It must play while I decorate my tree, and it must be turned on before any presents are opened on Christmas morning. Yay for holiday ditties!

  2. Amy Says:

    I think we listened to a Jim Nabors record when we put up the tree when I was little! Did you know he still tours?

    Our church choir did Messiah each year at Easter. At one point I played violin during the event. I’m not big on music, but that was always a fabulous performance!

  3. SweetBasta Says:

    Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…oh uh sorry, drifted off(or asunder). Our favorite Christmas albums are: John Denver and the Muppets, Peter Paul and Mary, and Harry Conick Jr “When My Heart Finds Christmas”

    Best part from the Muppets album.

    Bring us some figgy pudding

    Ms. Piggy – PIGGY PUDDING?!?

    Scooter – No Piggy, it’s Figgy Pudding.

    Ms. Piggy – Oh, ok.

    Scooter – with bacon.

Leave a Reply

