Resolutions Schmesolutions

I’ve been having lots of high school dreams lately. Usually when that happens, I’m workin’ through some meaty stuff in my 98th percentile-sized head. Last night I woke myself up several times telling off someone in my dream. I also screamed once and poor Abbs looked so worried. She hopped up on the bed and snuggled close, no doubt pitying my weak mortal mind.

Lean and Moxy and I finally exchanged Christmas presents, which is to say that they gave me presents while I could only apologize that my presents for them are still unfinished. As always, their gifts were SO sweet. Lean got me Thumbsucker, which is a great movie. If you haven’t seen it, definitely add it to your Netflix queue. I fell in love with it when Bernard and I saw it a few years ago. It’s a thoughtful coming-of-age tale with an amazing cast. The main character is a guy I would’ve definitely wanted to hang out with in high school. He’s sensitive and reflective, and confused as hell. He’s trying to find himself in the mess of a dysfunctional family, coupled with the quagmire o’ crap that makes being a modern teenager kind of suck. He finds a way to be what people want him to be but learns he’d rather be true to himself, which of course isn’t easy. The personalities in the film are so dynamic and complex but still totally relatable (although I’ve never had a dentist as delicious as Keanu Reeves.) I also love the soundtrack, which is loaded with Polyphonic Spree tunes. Good stuff!

Lean made a pledge to be a super-conscious shopper and thrift as many Christmas pressies as possible. Isn’t that great? Half Price Books helped greatly in her endeavor. We should all be so conscientious.

Sweet Mox got me the Once soundtrack, which I’ve wanted since I saw a preview for the movie. So far I’m still mesmerized by track 1, Falling Slowly:

Glen Hansard’s voice reminds me so much of Cat Stevens’. Isn’t the chorus moving? That harmony is achingly tender. I haven’t managed to see the movie yet but can’t wait because I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it.

Mox also got me The Guerilla Art Kit by Keri Smith – something I’ve coveted for awhile now. I love Keri Smith’s blog and her philosophy. The book is full of ideas and inspiration for creating guerrilla art, which in Keri’s words is

“…a fun and insidious way of sharing your vision with the world. It is a method of art making which entails leaving anonymous art pieces in public places. It can be done for a variety of reasons, to make a statement, to share your ideas, to send out good karma, or just for fun. My current fascination with it stems from a belief in the importance of making art without attachment to the outcome. To do something that has nothing to do with making money, or listening to the ego.”

Great concept, right? I can’t wait to try some of the projects.

I can’t say too much but I’m very excited about my presents for Mox and Lean. I don’t want to be hasty, but I think I’ll have them finished by Valentine’s Day – if not then, definitely before Lent. That means I need to sew sew sew, which I love but have neglected since the holidays.

On a related note, I half-decided to open an Etsy shop to sell all sorts of crafty goodies, including hand-made cards. I made some stuff but when things got crazy, I abandoned the idea. That was until Lean and Moxers saw some of what I’d made and encouraged me to get to gettin’. Several people have been interested in some of my sewing projects so I thought about adding those wares to the shop too. I originally thought I needed to make a lot of stuff before I could open a store, but I read an article about selling on Etsy (sorry, can’t find link), which said that’s not necessary and it would sort of defeat the unique, lovingly-crafted thing. I may throw caution to the wind and go for it…or I may get wrapped up in inventing a new language.

And speaking of new languages, how do ya like the new masthead?

January '08 Masthead

6 Responses to “Resolutions Schmesolutions”

  1. Amelia Says:

    I like the new layout, and YES you should open an Etsy store (I love Etsy).

  2. Chi Says:

    Ditto! (Maybe someday you can teach me that masthead trick. :))

  3. westwardbound Says:

    I concur: open an Etsy shop!

  4. Bumpster Says:

    You should definitely open an Etsy shop and sell some of that gorilla art that you’ll be producing. You could become the Dian Fossey of the art world.

  5. rachaelrabbit.com Says:

    I love your new masthead. I can’t wait to see the fluffy tail you grow! Thank you so much for your comment on my blog! I’ve been overwhelmed with the response! I look forward to letting you know who the lucky bag winner is. Thank you again. Yours truly, Rachael

  6. Kriss Says:

    Love your new masthead!! If you need a fluffy tail buddy to keep you motivated in the new year, I’m in.

    Make sure you update us with your etsy shop address when you get it all stocked up, okay?!? You sew such cute stuff – I bet it will be a big hit!

Leave a Reply

