Behold My Ineptitude

I’ve become quite adept at convincing myself, in a drowsy haze, that I’ll get up early in the morning. Once I’m snuggled up in my comfy bed, putting off whatever it is that I need to do is far easier than leaving my warm nest. Despite my track record of late arrivals and decidedly un-morning-person-like tendencies, the promise of sweet, sweet sleep tricks me into believing anything is possible. Get up at 5:30 a.m. for a jog? Easy peasy! Rotate my tires at 6 a.m.? No problem! Unfortunately when the fabled morning comes, I snooze button my way to 15 minutes before I need to be at work, at which point I seriously consider whether I really need to brush my hair and/or teeth and moments later, burst forth into the cold morning air, skirt tucked into my undies and sporting two different shoes.

And so it came to pass yesterday. I vowed to get up at 6:30 a.m., pack my lunch, and make breakfast, complete with mimosas and waffles I’d have delivered from Belgium since I had so much extra time. Unfailingly I fell nearly an hour-and-a-half short of my goal but still managed to pack my lunch, including condiments and utensils. Beaming with pride at my small accomplishment, I left for work. Unfortunately a mile or two into my journey, I realized I’d left my carefully-packed lunch at home. Such is the destiny of a reject from The Academy of the Ante Meridiemly Advanced.

5 Responses to “Behold My Ineptitude”

  1. Amy Says:

    I think we are twins.

  2. westwardbound Says:

    Hells Bells! You don’t actually believe you can pry yourself out of bed early during the darkest days of winter, do you? Silly woman. It’s that most wonderful time of year: chocolate + hibrination.

  3. SweetBasta Says:

    Put the alarm clock across the room from your bed. Then you have to get up to turn it off, and cannot hit the snooze.

  4. Mymsie Says:

    Foolish SweetBasta! I tried that many moons ago. I’ve even put the alarm in another room. And still I snooze…zzzz….

  5. Uncle Vinny Says:

    The trick I use is that I have to get on my vanpool at 7:35, and if I miss it my commute sucks… so it’s pretty strong incentive to wake up in time. Good luck, though!

Leave a Reply

