Is This Thing On?

Here’s a post I started last Friday:

Wowsers – y’all have been quiet this week. Is everyone hibernating until spring arrives? I’m ready for the darling buds of May as well. There’s always a day in early spring when the air is soft and perfect, fragrant, and full of possibility. I love that moment – it’s like Mother Nature’s way of saying, “Spring has officially been broughteth – commence BBQing and croquet on the lawn!”

Well, ask and ye shall receive because Sunday was GORGEOUS – so gorgeous I could hardly stand it! I didn’t know whether to spring clean or take Abbs for a brisk hike or burn all my sweaters in effigy. You’ve probably heard rumors by now so I may as well admit that I instead chose to don a Maria von Trapp frock and twirl about in the grass. Because the hills? They were alive! It was so wonderful and re-fueled me enough to make it through one more week of Indiana’s schizophrenic barometric bullshit.

How was your weekend? Friday Mox and I saw The Other Boleyn Girl. I didn’t know a lot about Anne and her sis so I did some research to get caught up. Stuff I found interesting?

  • I’m embarrassed to say I hadn’t made the connection that Anne gave birth to Elizabeth I, who of course ruled England for 45 of what some say were its most glorious years.
  • Although Anne wasn’t considered pretty by beauty standards of the time, she was quite the saucy, calculating minx and knew better than to bed (my new favorite verb) Henry without getting married first. (Holla “we want prenup!”)
  • Moments before Anne was beheaded, she delivered a humble speech, exalting Henry, despite all he’d done to her. “…but I pray God save the king and send him long to reign over you, for a gentler nor a more merciful prince was there never: and to me he was ever a good, a gentle and sovereign lord.”
  • There are unconfirmed rumors that Anne had six fingers on her left hand, which apparently was a sign of the devil! (But polydactly kitties are sweet!)
  • Check out the rad necklace Anne wore. I like to think of it as the Tudor version of the name necklace Carrie wore in Sex and the City.
  • This has unfortunately degraded into a Hannah Montana/Cliff Notes style recounting so I’ll stop.

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned, I love period pieces so I’m a bit biased when reviewing them. Scarlett Johansson did a fantastic job in her portrayal of a quiet, consistent, self-sacrificing Mary Boyelyn. Natalie Portman’s performance as Anne was nothing to spit at but I think she is simply too young to properly pull off a role like that. In the movie when Anne is crowned Queen of England, little Natalie looks like a kid playing dress-up, her slight frame completely buried in all the robes and cloaks. I think the performance would’ve been much more believable if delivered by an older, more formidable, experienced actress. Blah blah blah, The Other Boleyn Girl was no White Chicks, unkay?!

So guess what? My cable got cut off because I forgot to pay the bill. Reach for the stars! That type of thing hasn’t happened to me for a long time. I paid my bill but haven’t called Comcast yet because I bet they’re going to charge me some ludicrous reconnection fee. I’m toying with not having cable anymore but a girl can only watch her Seinfeld DVDs so much. Plus without cable, I don’t even get PBS, which is unacceptable. Damn commies!

One Response to “Is This Thing On?”

  1. Aaronas Says:

    Hanna Minx is great!

Leave a Reply

